help exchange   Host 89376
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Girona
All Year: Yes but not march y April
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 89376
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 24, 2019

We are Richard (UK) and Sandy (USA), a retired couple in our early sixties, interested in improving our conversational Spanish language. We are looking to host ‘Helper’ volunteers wanting to practice and improve their conversational English.

Los invitados de más de 30 años con habilidades de enseñanza de idiomas y alguna experiencia de "vida real" son especialmente bienvenidos.

Guests over 30 years old with language teaching skills and some "real life" experience are especially welcome


We live in the small village of Casavells in the comarca of Baix Empordà, thirty minutes from Girona, thirty minutes to the beaches, with Barcelona, the Pyrenees and France just under two hours away. Our house is surrounded by beautiful countryside, bike paths and walking trails, all within easy distance of the cafes, restaurants and markets of neighbouring towns such as La Bisbal and Torroella.

For the last two years, we have had the pleasure of getting to know local Catalan people who are interested in improving their English in exchange for their help in improving our Spanish. Our ‘Intercambio Amigos’.

We have found these once-weekly, two-hour informal meetings to be an excellent way to improve our confidence in speaking Spanish. Hearing our local Intercambio friends improve their English, has been a real pleasure.

We would love to host ‘Helpers’ interested in living with us, for the sole purpose of practising each others' languages. No classes, exams or homework, nothing formal. For example, maybe mornings we could all speak English and the afternoons just Spanish, whatever feels comfortable and is the most fun. Our own Spanish level is probably lower intermediate, so we have plenty to learn.

In the last two-and-a-half years, through other exchange organisations, we have had the pleasure of hosting 25+ touring-bicycle tourists from over 10 different countries. Argentina, Costa Rica, Mexico and Spain to name just a few. These most welcome visits, along with local Spanish speaking cousins, have filled our house with the music of the Spanish language.

We would be most happy to help you with your English.
Cuando practicamos el intercambio de idiomas con nuestros amigos locales españoles / catalanes, nos esforzamos por hablar un poco más despacio, comunicándonos, sin complicar ni confundir, nuestro aprendizaje mutuo.

Es un hecho comprobado que los hispanohablantes hablan un 20% más rápido que los angloparlantes. Hablar español rápido puede ser normal para usted, pero es de poca ayuda para nosotros. Es importante que los Workawayers entiendan este punto.

Please note; We are avid non-smokers of anything, and ask our guests to be the same, thank you.

As we are new HelpX hosts, we are initially offering guests to visit for 7 days. Of course, if we all agree, and you wish to stay longer that would be fantastic.

We live in a classic Catalan ‘Masia', a renovated farmhouse on the edge of a small medieval village surrounded by fields and woods. This lovely, old and nicely renovated building, houses three spacious apartments. Ours is on the ground floor with a very nice garden, patio and gorgeous views of the surrounding countryside.

Our guests will have their own private bedroom with a queen-sized bed. We have two bathrooms, three bedrooms in total, kitchen and living room. It’s a spacious, cosy and relaxing place. Friends, family and previous guests have all commented on how nice it was to spend time here.

As hosts, we will be happy to provide breakfast and an evening meal for our language exchange guests. We enjoy visiting local cafes for morning coffee and croissants and the occasional meal out in the evenings. Snacks, beer, wine and lunch will be your only expenses. Our guests are most welcome to use the kitchen and join us for all meals. We tend to eat quite healthily, fruits, veggies, grains, fish and occasionally meat. We are not drinkers per se but do enjoy the occasional beer and glass of wine. Please join us, we enjoy entertaining and believe there is no better way to practice each other's language.

Tenga en cuenta; Las personas que son comedores "delicados", es decir, "no coman esto, son alérgicos a eso", fuman (Incluso afuera) o son tímidos de un perro grande y amable que tal vez quiera reconsiderar ... ¡Guau!

También preferimos que nuestros huéspedes tengan más de 30 años y sean hablantes nativos de español / primer idioma.

Nos complace que se haya tomado el tiempo de leer nuestro perfil completo. Para mostrar o demostrar esto, indíquenos el nombre de su fruta favorita en su solicitud inicial.

Please note; Folks who “don’t eat this, are allergic to that", smoke (yup! even outside) or are shy of a large friendly dog may want to reconsider... Woof!

We also prefer our guests to older than 30 and be native/first language, Spanish speakers.

We are glad that you have taken the time to read our complete profile. To show, or prove this, please tell us the name of your favourite fruit.

Cheers, Richard y Sandy (y Roggy)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use