help exchange   Host 89394
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Melbourne
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 89394
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 27, 2018

Looking for helpers from January 2019.

About us: Our little family of 3 is growing in the new year so we are looking for some household help. Our family consists of myself (Brenna) and my husband James, both in our early 30s, and our 4 and a half year old son Joel. We also have a new baby due in February. We are a very friendly and environmentally conscious family living in the beautiful Dandenong Ranges, around an hour from Melbourne CBD. The Dandenong Ranges are a tourist destination in themselves and we live walking distance from many local attractions (or a short drive/ bus ride.) We love sharing our home and hills with guests and learning about cultures from all over the world, traveling is now beyond our means but we love to travel through your stories of the word! Before having our son we spent 10 months backpacking through South America, some of our greatest experiences were our helpx days!

Help needed: Being heavily pregnant and soon to have a new bub, we are looking for someone to help out with general household tasks. Tasks may be variable, things like cleaning the bathroom or windows, cooking healthy meals, vacuuming, washing the clothes or taking our 4 year old outside to play cricket or kick the football or jam with him on his instruments. We also ask (though this can be negotiable) that you spend a morning or afternoon per week helping at a close friends house in their permaculture garden, no experience necessary and a great learning opportunity!

I also run a small business with a close friend based on connecting children and families to nature and community, spending time in nature with children of all ages, if this is something that interests you, you are welcome to volunteer on this project too!

Help needed for usually be no more than 2 hours a day, but we are quite flexible and happy to work with you to find a suitable arrangement, with plenty of time off to explore Melbourne and surrounds.

There will be no unsupervised care of the children, though we would love you to help out and play with our 4 year old and cuddle our baby when it arrives!

Accommodation: A room in our cozy comfortable home will be available for you, though you will share this room with our sons (large) collection of musical instruments! Shared bathroom and wifi. Our son wakes up early, usually around 6am, you are welcome to sleep in of course but he can be noisy!

There is enough to do for one person, but we can always find extra if you are a couple or traveling in a pair.

Prefer a 1 or 2 week stay with the option to extend for the right person.

Food: You are welcome to join us for all our meals, actually we would love for you to cook for us as part of the deal! We eat everything, but are super happy to cater to vegetarians or vegans, especially if you are doing the cooking!

Getting here: there is a bus stop a two minute walk away which will take you to the train station, or an easy 1 hour drive from Melbourne CBD if you have your own transportation.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use