help exchange   Host 89415
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Copenhagen S
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 89415
Country: Denmark

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 6, 2018

We are looking for native Spanish or English speaker to join our family in Copenhagen, Denmark

We are a multicultural and multilingual family, my husband is Danish and I am half Argentinian and half Colombian and we are in our early 40s. I have been living in Copenhagen for 8 years. We have 2 small children (a 4 year old boy and a 2 year old girl) and a super well behaved 8 year old dog and since she is a mini-schnauzer, she doesn't shred!

Our volunteer will be a native Spanish or English speaking girl that wants to help us with the apartment (cleaning, vacuuming, dishwasher, windows, washing clothes, etc), and that can entertain our children, while I'm cooking or working. It may be needed that you have to pick them up from their kindergarden (it shouldn't be often) and we may also need you to cook, do minor groceries, or prepare a snack every now and then.

It's important that you have experience both cleaning and taking care of children.

We are new at this, so we will figure things out together but the idea is that you help us in the morning and in the afternoon. For example, in the morning we would need help with breakfast and then to tidy up the apartment and cleaning (aprox. 2 hours). In this time frame, some options could be 2 days of the week, you take on a deep cleaning task, such as cleaning the fridge, the closets in the kitchen, windows, etc; another 2 days you make a total clean of the apartment, and the remaining day of the week will be flexible according to each other's needs. In the afternoon, we would need help when the children come back from kindergarden from around 16.00 to around 19.00 (aprox. 2 hours) to help entertain them or tidy up the play area, kitchen, dining table, etc. All of this is an example, the hours are flexible and we expect that we adapt to each other's needs and plans.

In Denmark we have dinner quite early, at around 18.00. You are welcome to join us for dinner, or make your own later if you can't adapt to eat so early! We would also like to share the breakfast table with you but it's not a requirement. We normally are not home for lunch so you will have to make it yourself. You may need to take our dog for a walk in the mornings or afternoon.

We would like that you only speak in Spanish or English with our children, so you are not required to speak any other languages than your mother tongue.

The use of screens to entertain the children is not allowed (only in very extreme cases), so you should be able to make up games and play with them, and we expect you to use your phone and computer on your free time.

You can work or study in your free time during the day, but we expect you to be fresh and ready for our children in the afternoon. Same thing at night, you can go out but we expect you to be fresh in the mornings.

This is a family home, so we expect you to behave accordingly, and we will of course give each other a few days to know each other and decide if it works out.

We would like you to be a non-smoking person please.

You can practice or learn Danish, English and Spanish because we use all the languages at home. You will become part of a family that loves to meet new people and cultures and that is ready to help you with your stay in Denmark. We like share our knowledge of historic places and their importance to Denmark, and make a plan on how to get to know the most important sights in DK. My husband and I love to explain things and talk about history and we would love to share our way of seeing things and learn other ways of doing and seeing things. We live in an area where there are famous architectonic buildings and would love to show them to you.

We offer our children's bedroom, which is nicely decorated and as the apartment is isolated there is no noise from outside. The kids never use their bedroom because they sleep with us and normally play in the living room instead of their own room. We will try to provide you with as many amenities as possible during your stay so that your experience is enriched by a comfortable stay. It is a 106 m2 new apartment with a great view of the City Hall and Tivoli games and equipped with a really fast internet connection, dishwasher, microwave, washing machine, and dryer.

The building has an elevator. You will be sharing the kitchen, dining room, living room and bathroom with us.

The neighborhood is surrounded by a large green area and canals that provide oxygen and peace. Less than 5 min walk to 2 metro stations and a bus. 10 min ride to the shopping mall and Tivoli. We are right next to the famous round dorm building Tietgenkollegium and close by two Universities so we are surrounded by young people.

We live very close to a metro station and bus stop. It is quite easy to find jobs such as cleaning or delivering commercials that you can do in your free time. There are many cultural activities in Denmark and interesting castles and museums to visit.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use