help exchange   Host 89486
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Oviedo
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 89486
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 15, 2019

*Vacancy occupied at the moment*

We are a family of 4, our daughters are 9 & 10 y.o. My husband is a psycologist and a teacher of different levels. I am also a teacher but I am not working at the moment (I am studing).

Our family is completed with our friendly dog, Nora.

We used to travel a lot in the past, and we hope to travel again in the future, when our daughters are a bit older. Besides Europe, my husband has been volunteering in a few African countries and I have travelled to some American countries (especially South America and some specific cities of the USA).

We are interested in art in general, classical music, folk music and reading (the girls are two avid readers. The little one has read the entire Harry Potter saga several times :P ).
We like contact with nature, going camping and everything related to the Camino de Santiago, since we have walked it several times (with and without the girls) in its different variants.
We like to be in contact with other cultures. We are especially interested in Scottish culture.

We are from Catalunya but we live in the north of Spain, in a beautiful medium-sized city called Oviedo, surrounded by nature, with possibilities for trekking and cycling (more info here at: https://www.turismoasturias.es/en/).

In our area the common language spoken is Spanish (it's not like that in all areas of Spain) so it makes it a perfect place if you desire to practice this language.

We can also teach you many things about the "Camino de Santiago" if you are a pilgrim or you want to become one (maybe our house could be your starting "albergue").

The help that we need would be to help our daughters with the English language (basic) and basic knowledge of musical language (they play violin/viola), taking care of them for about 4 hours per day and a little bit of cooking and household tasks.
You would have two days off a week to travel and get to know the surroundings (cities around the area are: Santander, Santiago de Compostela, Gijón, León, A Coruña, ...).

The apartment is a walkable distance from the city centre and public transportations connect to other cities. The airport is at 30'

We can provide you with a private single room, wifi, turist information and a good Spanish level to teach you if you want. :)

Our ideal helper would be someone who speaks English correctly (not necessarily native), who could teach the basic knowledge of music theory (music knowledge would be a plus but not mandatory), a children lover and no smoker. :)

The helper would have to be a proactive and independent person, who would not mind being alone for several days as we may have planned some trips outside the city.

If you have any doubts or questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use