help exchange   Host 89498
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 100
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 89498
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 9, 2019

I live on a large block of land in the far north with a mix of native forest and orchards. Having the opportunity to live on this land is a bit of a dream come true for me and I am wanting to learn and practice sustainable management of resources and incorporate permaculture principles as much as possible. I have recently returned from travelling and staying at other people's places so enjoy that I am now able to offer a space for travellers to come and stay and experience this way of life for a while.

We have macadamias, lemon's and tamarillos at the moment. So there is ongoing work in pruning, picking, mowing grass and general maintanance of the orchards.
Over the next month I will be preparing and planting some new orchards which will involve clearing, mulching and planting work.
At the moment I am also working on upgrading the water supply systems and building some new toilet and shower facilities so anyone with some building or plumbing skills would be most welcome!
Over the next few months there is a few small building and painting projects on the go as well. So needing some help with this.
The is also ongoing work in the gardens around the house and I aim to grow as much food here as possible so wanting to extend the garden areas slowly.
I am around on the land most of the time and working away on things and enjoy having others around to give me a hand with things and also just to chill out and enjoy this beautiful place with.
I live in a beautiful valley in the far north, about 40 minutes south of Kaitaia. I am very much learning as i go at the moment and anyone with experience in sustainable orcharding practices would be most welcome to come and share their knowledge and experience.
I live completely off grid and have limited amounts of 12 volt power only so it is a good opportunity to unplug from the technological world a bit and enjoy being in nature.
There are two spare rooms here so you will have your own space. And food will be provided. I eat mostly vegetarian so if you want meat you are welcome to bring some at your own cost.
I also enjoy a beer now and again so if you want you are welcome to bring with you also.
My place is a 15 minute from the beach and the stunning Karikari peninsula and 40 mins into Kaitaia.
If you have any questions feel free to get in contact :)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use