help exchange   Host 89527
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Toronto
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 89527
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 27, 2019

Update: currently booked with two separate helpers (Oct.) and (Nov - without end date....) Check again in January

We would like to continue with language practice and looking for Native Spanish or French speaker.

You will be welcomed into our family of 4 (youngest is 19). We enjoy meeting people from different cultures and backgrounds and would love to learn about your culture and hear of your adventures. We have been hosting for over one year and have been happy to have welcomed visitors from: Mexico, Brazil, Chile, Spain, Germany, Japan, France, Uruguay and China. (Although we are new to helpx we can provide a link with excellent feedback from the visitors we hosted)

You should be someone who wants to join us with dinner, outing, conversations “like family”. Most diets can be accommodated as we have one vegetarian, one nearly vegan, but the rest of us eat meat, fish, etc. There is one small pet rabbit also. None of us smoke and we prefer a non-smoker.

Hours: 5 days a week, It is for 24 hours of work required for the week - plus one meal per week that you will please cook for the family that will include preparing it and cleaning up afterwards (but we will shop for the ingredients and pay for them). Any additional cooking that we request for the family will be counted towards working hours.

We ask that you plan to stay for at least two weeks with us.

We are located near the Islington Subway station - about 5 minute walk. It is a 20 minute ride to downtown Toronto by subway. You can walk - within 5 min - to library, indoor pool, gym, indoor skating rink, cafes, restaurants, neighbourhood shops.....

You will have your private space (see photos) but the rest of the house is shared - evening meals are usually shared with family and some lunches also eaten together. Otherwise, fridge and pantry well stocked so you can prepare what you like. We will do the grocery shopping and provide food at home.

Help needed:
- some painting if you are good at this... walls, trim, baseboards of hall area.
Spring tasks would include help in yard/lawn/maybe deck repair, sorting small attic area and basement, moving small furniture, and other small projects around the house. Also, there will be cleaning tasks (bathroom, kitchen, carpets, living areas), and maybe some help with food preparations.

Currently seeking native Spanish speaker for our one daughter (and me too!) who would like to practice Spanish - we can include some scheduled language lessons with you as part of your working hour commitment. Two of us here only speak English, so if you are here to practice your English there will be that opportunity too.

You may also help take care for the pet rabbit - and this would include cleaning the cage.

Let us know what skills you bring - For example, can you sew? teach dance or piano, paint? Not everyone is suited to all work, and we will decide with you what tasks are best for you.

You need to have a positive outlook on working and do it with energy and efficiency. You should be able to self manage and keep good track of what needs to be done, making good decisions for prioritizing items as needed. It would be good if you could manage your schedule and keep track of your hours so that you can balance enjoying your travel with the work commitment here.

As we are working, and going to school, one day of the work hours may be scheduled on the weekend, and a few on one or two weeknights if we need to work with you - - but you can still schedule off two days without work, example Fri&Sat or Sun&Mon or as you like.


LOOKING FORWARD TO HEAR FROM YOU

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use