help exchange   Host 89710
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Seattle
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 89710
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 9, 2020

Seattle is a wonderful city to use a base for exploring the beautiful Pacific Northwest! We live in the University district in Seattle. We are very close to the Burke-Gilman trail and the University of Washington. Our house is within walking distance of parks, grocery stores, and public transportation like the buses and the light rail.

We are always looking for helping hands to help us with the dogs, the kids, the house, the yard, the summertime garden, and the busy life that comes with this stage of life. We are a family of two adults and three children. We also have two dogs, ages 12 and 13. During the school year, the kids are in school, and during the summer, the kids go to day camps.

Currently, I am looking for a volunteer or two to help me from ~May 10 - September 10. Summer is the busiest time for our family. It really helps to have some consistent help as there is a bit of training involved to be able to help our family.

We host throughout the year. There are always plenty of things to do around here. Itís nice to have another person around (in & out of the house) to keep our two dogs company.

We can host up to two travelers at a time. Please let me know if you are ok with sharing space with another traveler or if you prefer the room to yourself. I donít ask women to share space with men and or men to share space with women.

Our Place:
Our family has a 1200 sq ft house with three bedrooms and two bathrooms. Please keep in mind that our house is small by American standards.

The third bedroom is our guest room with queen sized pull out bed and shared bathroom. The bed converts to a sofa when we don't have guests, but the bed has an actual mattress + a memory foam top (no bar across your back). It feels like a real bed. When we host two travelers, we have a second twin sized bed that we set up in the room. The bedroom has a TV for Netflix.

We have security cameras that record and send alerts to our phones when the dogs are barking and when people come and go. We usually ignore these alerts. We use the cameras primarily to check on the dogs while we are out. Our beagle can become upset when she is alone, so it's nice to be able to check on her when we aren't home and to know when the dogs are getting restless or need to go out. The cameras are in common areas in plain view.

Food:
We are happy to share our staple food items with you, i.e. milk, cereal, eggs, things we have in the pantry and refrigerator. You are welcome to eat what we eat. We are not a family that sits down and eats dinner together on a nightly basis. Thus, you should expect to buy some of your own food to your preferences and eat some of our food.

Our familyís schedule:
We are a family with young kids. The kids are up early every day. Although you are welcome to sleep in, you might find doing so challenging past 7AM if you are sensitive to noise. We supply ear plugs and a white noise machine for your comfort. You are welcome to come and go and keep the hours that you wish, but please understand that if you are regularly coming home in the late evening or past midnight and, then, trying to sleep in, you may be more comfortable with another host. Itís absolutely fine every once in a while, but if going out late every night is your preference, we are not the best host for you.

Getting Around Seattle:
- Our neighborhood is very walkable! There are grocery stores, parks, and shops all within walking distance of our house.
- We have bikes, bike locks, and bike helmets in the garage that we are happy to share. Just ask & weíll get you set up!
- Itís easy to use public transportation from our house. The nearest stop is only a few hundred feet away from our front door.
-Getting from the airport (SEA) to our house is easy via one train + one bus. The Light Rail (train) runs regularly from the airport to the Stadium stop, which the stop closest to our house. From there, our house is only a short bus ride away.

Next Steps:
-If you are interested in staying with us, please share a bit more about yourself, why you want to stay with us, what you hope to do here in Seattle, and what dates you are looking to stay with us.
-Please let me know when you have a moment to talk on the phone or video chat in the upcoming days. I have WhatsApp, Facebook, Facebook Messenger, Apple Messages, and Skype.
-If all seems to be a fit after messaging and video chatting with each other, we will extend an invitation for you to stay with us.
-Please keep in mind that I generally work on Work and Travel accommodations on Mondays, including replying to messages and scheduling video chats. It may take me a few days to respond.

reviews (2)
Helper: Matt Moclair Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: September 8, 2019
Cheryl and the gang were awesome! These two parents are high performers and I... view complete review

Helper: Bonnie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: March 14, 2019
Itís sooo nice to stay with Cheryl Ďs family. They treated me like their fami... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use