help exchange   Host 89749
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Sligo
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 45
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 89749
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 18, 2019

We live on a working Sheep and cattle farm.45ha and small horticultural nursery specialising in perennials. Some Alpacas and poultry kept as a hobby too. Hopefully we will have four bee hives this year, if you have experience with bee keeping it would be great. If not we will be able to learn together. We live in the scenic Glencar valley. Well known for its Mountains and walks, Glencar lake and Glencar Waterfall are both within five minutes by walking. There is a good Salmon river on the land. We have our own fishing rights on it however you will need a national fishing licence for salmon. The other gems within walking distance are Sruth ar an aighadh Ard ie the river flowing back out the mountain. We have immediate access to Kings Mountain and Benbulben from the farm. Knocknarea mountain and Lough Gill lake are within 10km. Rosses Point is 7km away. Strandhill is 12km from here.Sligo town 8km.
Living accommodation is a modern one bedroom Chalet with kitchen, living room, utility room and bathroom, fully furnished with all mod cons suitable for two people sharing. There is a wood,turf stove within. The accommodation is adjacent to our own house. Enjoy your time with our family and extended family. You will benefit from your own privacy, yet be fully involved in our family doing the activities as described. We will provide food of your choice in abundance and have barbecues and special meals with our family regularly. I live with my partner and her son aged 15. My son, his wife and child are living next to us. I have two more sons and a daughter all working and living close by.
We will need two people with a good knowledge of general farming, particularly sheep and general gardening duties such as weeding,planting and lawnmowing. There are plenty of ongoing projects on the farm, Our minds are always open to your ideas too. This is ideally suited to a couple looking to experience our culture and lives with plenty to do both on the farm and during your off time. We would like to share your culture and life experiences too this placement is for for two or three weeks or even longer. We would prefer that you have some hands on knowledge of sheep and gardening at this time of the year. If not a will to learn will do.
I think you will find that this is a busy place but the rewards will be great. We are new to this concept but I have no doubt that it will be an adventure that can be enjoyed by us all.
Start date as soon as you are ready. As the year is moving on it is much easier with the sheep as the workload is low. Our main emphasis is potting and caring for plants is on the nursery

reviews (1)
Helper: Lise and Florie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: September 7, 2019
Hello we are two French 19 year old, we stayed at Liam for 1 month. It was ou... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use