help exchange   Host 89818
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Woodside
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1 acre
Persons: 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 89818
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 6, 2020

We're a family trying to live more communally so our kids can be 'citizens of the world.'

Our household is made up of our family of 5 (our kids are ages 5, 7, and 7) and, generally, 2-3 guests.

The best way to think about living with us is to consider yourself part of the "village/community" that surrounds us. You'll want to be sure you are into children and have an inclination to teach and be around them. However, guests are not responsible for 'parenting' the kids and we are not looking for "au pairs."

Our guests primarily help us with logistics (especially food prep and clean up) and various special projects (for example building a solar heater for the pool, educational research, a yurt build) and if they have the experience and desire, tutoring before school.

After logistics are covered, sharing your passions with the kids is welcome (eg. chess, improv, dance, making music, teaching, educational games) and if spending time with them feels natural and flows well, that is of course an option.

We have just moved to the quiet and woodsy town of Woodside, CA, 40 minutes drive south of San Francisco and 15 minutes from Stanford University and Silicon Valley. It is a beautiful area with access to the city by public transportation that is 7 minutes from our house.

We have spent four of the last 6 years abroad - 2.5 in Thailand, and 1.5 in Madrid Spain, where we hosted many guests for generally 1-3 months at a time in a large house we converted to 5 smaller units.

We now live in a 3 bedroom rental house with some land for a real garden (though not yet started) a swimming pool, some slack lines, a trampoline and now, a yurt. We keep 1 or 2 of the bedrooms, and the yurt, open for guests with stays a minimum of three weeks though averaging a month or two.

Guests coordinate to fill a weekly calendar by signing up to be in charge of set up and clean up of breakfast, dinner, and, when there is no school, lunch. Guests generally handle the cooking 3 times a week on MWF and stock the fridge with prepared food that can easily be reheated for meals.

On normal days, the schedule looks like this:
- 6:45am - Breakfast (Saturday and Sunday is a 7:15 breakfast)
- 7:15am - Homework - Assist, as needed, one child with 30-45 minutes of homework (math, reading, writing, etc)
- 5:30pm - Dinner
- Kids go into the bedroom at 6:30pm, freeing up the common areas of the house for the adults.

Other responsibilities fall into the category of 'Special Projects.' Past examples include:
- Built yurt floor
- Insulate yurt
- Compare Costco food prices
- Misc office work (research kids reading lists, travel health insurance options)
- Troubleshoot and install pool alarm
- Misc handyman projects
- Make a food prep guide.
- Determine best way to buy staple foods inexpensively and with the least packaging
- Organize garage
- Repair shed roof and stuff gaps with copper mesh to deter rodents.
- Guest shares passion with after school projects (teach Rubik's cube, music, singing, basketball, improv, piano)

If this sounds like something you'd like, please tell us more about yourself.

All the best!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use