help exchange   Host 89897
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Auckland
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.3
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 89897
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 23, 2020

Kia Ora,

We have no more room available for the next few months. Thanks for your interest.

.........................................

We are looking for some help around our lifestyle block from now until 9 April. Let us know if you are interested and please write the dates you are interested in coming and what experience you have if any working with farm tools.

We would welcome either a couple or single person. Non smokers please.

We live on a 10 acre lifestyle block, made up of 7 paddocks and a small bush. Located on a hillside, with spectacular views of Auckland and in the distance Manukau harbour – the view is special.

There is always plenty to do on the property and you can choose to stay shorter or longer with us.

We run beef cows (between 3 and 7 usually) and have two dogs.

We have always been very flexible to working hours. We would typically ask you to work 5-6 hours for 4 days and 6 hours on either Sat or Sunday, pending Pete’s availability. If you need to do stuff, then we can usually support you working around these times. Some work will be alongside Pete, but majority of time you will be just shown the tasks and wished luck!

Drury is a pretty, rural location in South Auckland 4km from the motorway, 40km from the Auckland Sky Tower, on the outskirts going south.

We are on a private road – you’ll need self transport because we are 4km away from bus stop and 9km from Papakura train station.

About us:
• Large 5 bed house. 2 bedrooms upstairs, with a private bathroom.

• We enjoy meeting people. We are very active and sporty people, (running, football and golf), both work in corporate jobs.

• We have a little girl – 3.5 years old who goes to daycare in the week. Whilst she is cute and lovely, it does mean we need to respect her demands of early dinner at 6pm and quiet house after that.

• We also have two boys, 18 and 20, both away at University.

• My wife is hugely talented in languages: Hungarian, English, Croatian, Serbian, a bit of French and Italian. I’m useless in this field, just speak English.

• We like to socialise and sometimes have friends over.

• Evening meals for 7 days of the week. Guests welcome to eat with us or warm up and eat when they like. Dinners are mostly cooked fresh daily. Lunch and breakfast is help yourself - we usually have bread, cereals, cheese, tuna, vegetables, fruit etc.

Experience good to have:
• Quadbike – land is on many slopes, so must be competent, responsible.
• Ability to use a chainsaw (Experience required to use or be very competent handyperson)
• Bushcuttering and weedeating,
• In short, the external work is varies from farming work to general handyperson work
• Inside work: general cleaning, handyman jobs.

Current list of jobs (for example)
• Fix retaining wall - simple hammering
• Gorse clear: team work and the right attitude
• Clear paddock of weeds/rushes with industrial bushcutter, sprayer, fertilise & seed
• Batton a fence – simply hammer nails
• House painting
• Gully retaining work
• In case of rainy weather inside help: wash walls and ceiling
• Rotate cows smoothly from one paddock to another
• Weedeat grass under fences
• Fence repairs. Garden clearing.

Overall a good attitude and ability to work independently as well as work with Pete at weekends. You must be responsible enough to manage costly tools.

Living:
You are welcome to relax in our lounge, dining room and out on the deck or lawn.
• Kitchen: The kitchen is normally available for your use, except when we are preparing the meals.
• Laundry: You are welcome to use our washing machine/laundry facilities during your stay.
• Internet: We have unlimited Internet. Speed is only 13 MB/s, (slow) but working with provider to seek better connection (Sept 19)
• TV: We have TV with Netflix. We only have one TV in the lounge.

From our experience, we think couples and/or two guys over 23 years old would find our experience more rewarding, given the nature of the work.

Look forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use