help exchange   Host 9014
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Lyons
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6 hectares / 15 acres
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 9014
Region: Mountain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 7, 2017

Dog savvy, mature and fun helpers with building, WordPress or strong organizing skills of all sorts welcome this summer. Are you a SAFE worker? Do you love the mountains?

No matter what skills you bring or work arrangements we make, every person here is fully responsible for interacting in a loving, positive way with my clients' two to six dogs on the property at all times. Helpers are welcome who are attentive and self-aware, who have a strong work ethic and communicate clearly. Oh yeah, 'ya GOTTA have a good sense of humor, too!!! :-)

I live in a beautiful, dry, quiet and rocky landscape in the mountains about 40 minutes NW of Boulder, Colorado. Wonderful mountain and valley views from a huge deck and endless stars at night. It's close to world-class hiking in Rocky Mountain National Park if you have a car, mountain biking if you want to rent one, white-water kayaking and rock climbing.

****This is a no-fragrance house so no perfume, cologne, incense, smoke, hair spray, strongly-scented shampoo or make-up, etc.

My home is a state-licensed home boarding site for well-socialized dogs. The dogs live among us, not in crates or runs. So professional attention to detail and safety matters is essential--doors and gates closed, food, snacks and sharp implements kept far out of reach, toilet lids always down, etc., as is a very high level of common sense and a willingness and ability to communicate clearly about what you want and need. My expectations of your attention and willingness to jump in and get dirty with me is HIGH, but so is my desire to make this a fun and memorable experience for you in whatever ways I am able. Some days are more more laid back and some days are full of tasks.

I'm 59, non-smoking and young at heart, with a lively intellect and imagination. Only moderate alcohol and please, no pot or other drugs while here as you and I have 24/7 responsibility for good judgment with the boarding dogs in my home. There's no TV but there are great dogs, Netflix, rabbits, deer, hawks, eagles, snakes, squirrels lizards and the occasional elk for company. :-) And good conversation. Alternative entertainment! :-) ,

I'm a huge audio book and radio fan and an aspiring documentary filmmaker(Think, "total newbie!"). It's important to me to balance the life of the mind with care of the body and soul, including yummy and (mostly!) healthy food, much of which is organic, but I am not a fanatic. You'll find fruits and vegetables always and some meat. I'm flexible about food if you're a great fit here, but I cannot accommodate a junk food diet. If you're a heavy drinker or can't spend a week without pot, this is not the place for you.

There are usually between two and six dogs staying with me at a time while their families travel. Besides building-related jobs on the addition which change from week to week, help is always needed with data entry online, website building, organizing of records and big storage spaces and always help cleaning in the house, sparing my overwhelmed sinuses with your vacuuming and dusting.

Yes, we'll walk and play with dogs; hike occasionally depending on weather, but also pick up dog poop, brush out dog coats and wash the wood floors thoroughly with vinegar and water on hands and knees. For walking here on the gravel road in the mountains you'll need rugged-soled, not smooth-soled shoes or boots. You'll get occasional opportunities for hiking and other play in the area, though this location is for someone who likes to spend a lot of time up here on the mountain.

One of the things I seek is a Helper I learn to trust early on so I can have an occasional day off myself. If you're prone to "cabin fever" or if you'd be afraid occasionally up here alone on the mountain, this is not the right place for you..

A great sense of humor is important and I have to start with a Helper who already has basic confidence around dogs of ALL sizes. This is a professional responsibility.

When someone comes to stay it changes my daily life and impacts plans that I make or choose not to make. So if you commit to an arrival date and you are a no-show with no urgent matter/communication I will post that as feedback on your profile as a courtesy alert to other Hosts. It's the same level of respect you'll want and you'll get from me, too.

I'm something of a night owl, but we need to be up by 9am to work. I expect a Helper to wake up on their own and be ready to work unless we agree otherwise.

Please come with your own computer if you want email or web access. We have wifi up here that works most of the time. No problem just for email and simple online uses. There is no cell phone reception up here but you can use my house phone for short calls or you can Skype or use Facetime if you're not on for huge amounts of time when I'm working(bandwidth).

I buy quality groceries and I'm always happy to have you add your requests to the grocery shopping list if it's not junk food. Helpers can buy their own junk food or soda, but this is not a location for a Helper who subsists on junk food. .

I host Helpers who have a habit of doing work right the first time and asking plenty of questions/who do not make assumptions. I GREATLY appreciate this kind of help and will let you know that daily, then write you an outstanding reference that will thrill me as much as you.

Other help needed includes SEO work, WordPress web site help, yard and garden work, carpentry, electrical and painting, depending on the moment and the season.

What do you want from a HelpX stay in this area? How can I make it wonderful, fun and worthwhile for you???

On average I expect 22 hours a week of work with some time accountability on a pad on the fridge and lots of time flexibility. The more highly skilled the work you can do, the more I will bend over backwards to show my appreciation and do all I can for you. We'll go to town occasionally, but part of what I need is trustworthy help with the dogs here so I can get other things done in town some days.

There is a piano in the living room and a guitar and violin in the closet in case you play. Music and friends make the world go around. I'm afraid all I play are CDs! :-(

I can pick you up from a bus stop in Lyons or in Boulder some days. It's about 13km (8 miles) to my small town of Lyons, or 40km (25 miles) to Boulder, where I go some days.

Thank you!!!
Ciao for now! Cheri in the mountains




reviews (10)
Helper: Austin Cochran Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: July 8, 2016
I had a wonderful time with Ms. Cheri! She went out of here way several times... view complete review

Helper: Danielle F Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: October 15, 2015
I stayed with Cheri a few times this summer, helping paint the house, pull we... view complete review

Helper: Dagny Anderson Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: October 8, 2015
I stayed with Cheri for about two weeks in September. I worked on painting t... view complete review

Helper: Sunil Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: May 6, 2014
I spent two weeks with Cheri and would highly recommend her. She is thoughtfu... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Katherine Daugherty Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: April 22, 2014
I am happy to have the opportunity to stay with Cheri this spring =)Cheri was... view complete review

Helper: Cathy Fraser Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: August 20, 2013
Ditto on what everyone else said about Cheri She is an awesome and graciou... view complete review

Helper: Dave Duffy Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: April 14, 2013
Cheri was an incredibly energetic and inspiring companion for me to meet in C... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Ting-Ann Jang Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Taiwan Date: January 13, 2013
Itís my first time visiting Colorado State and it had been a wonderfully memo... view complete review

Helper: Joann and Carl Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: November 24, 2012
We had a wonderful time with Cheri! She was extremely generous with her space... view complete review

Helper: Emily Rose Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: January 31, 2011
November 11 - January 15 It was a pleasure staying with Cheri! I stayed for ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use