help exchange   Host 90211
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Victoria
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 90211
Region: Vancouver Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 29, 2020

We are a family of four on a lovely hobby farm just outside of Victoria with 25 chickens, fruit trees and a developing garden.

We are currently looking for helpers for March/April/May 2020 for 2-3 week periods.

Helping will involve basic landscaping including weeding, digging, prepping garden beds, wheelbarrowing and placing mulch. Ideally (but not necessary) helpers will have some basic construction skills to repair some lawn edging sections (sawing, using drill etc).


The two adults of the family are both health care professionals - one of whom has a home based practice. We have a very active and busy schedule (swimmIng, biking, music, soccer etc.) and are looking to connect with people for some help with the property and to share our home for periods of 2-4 weeks at a time.

Helpers should be comfortable with larger dogs- we have one who likes to visit with people.

Home considerations:

Pictures of the room accomodation are posted. It has one double bed- an extra camping foamy is available. A shared bathroom is available. If we have no out of town family guests (which is the vast majority) the bathroom is private.

WiFi is available. Phones for local calls only.

Absolutely no smoking/vaping of anything on property (including outside)

Travel: The nearest bus is about a 15 minute walk to Camosun College on Interurban - Helpers are very welcome to join us in our regular travel routines (in morning to work/school in town, home after evening soccer practice etc.). The road to our house has a couple of steep short sections.

Surrounding activities- I am sure that the internet will be a much more inclusive resource- :). We are happy to have people join us at activities if interested.

Helping activities:

Exchange: Helping for 4 hours per day per person (for five days per week so total of 20 hrs per week) in exchange for accommodations and food/meals. Meal preparation and clean up are considered shared contributions- not helping .

Meals- Our schedule with activities can be quite variable - which means meal times also are. Helpers are absolutely welcome to participate in our meals and we can coordinate by texting. Or we will arrange to purchase reasonable items for helpers to self-manage and use our kitchen. We do regularly eat meat but alternate available.

Helpers are welcome to combine work time in advance of time off (eg work 8 hrs one day and take next day off)

Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you with any questions or to make arrangements.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use