help exchange   Host 90351
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


St Nicolas de la Grave
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 90351
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 16, 2019

We are a lively English/ German family looking for somebody to help us with our guesthouse and animals in the beautiful Midi-Pyrenees area of South-West France. We are looking for helpers from end of March onwards and through the whole of spring and summer. We experienced that helpers stay between 2 - 4 weeks, as most of them are travelling around. But it could also be longer.

We are Kenneth (58), Kathrin (50), Kieran (18 years ), Kristine (16 years ), a German/ English family running a guesthouse in South-West France, 70 km north-west of Toulouse. We are using all three languages in our family, Kenneth speaks English to the children, whereas Kathrin generally speaks German to Kieran and Kristine. Both children also speak French at school or with their friends, so we really are all trilingual. Most of our guests are also French, so basic language skills are useful.
Kenneth is a Jazz musician and works away on cruise ships a lot and this is why we are looking for somebody to help Kathrin with our "house and herd".
We are sharing our house with Teddy our St Bernard, our two cats and a rabbit. In the garden there are four hens roaming around and just across the road we have our three horses. Needless to say - we love animals!


Running a guest house is very interesting and we have guests from all over the world. We are renting out 5 guest bed-rooms and a self catering gite.
We already had girls from Australia, Germany, England and Finland, USA, Ukraine,.... why don't you come and join our multi-national family? The exchanges we have over our lunch and dinner together are always so nice, funny and interesting.

When the children were little and we had less business and fewer animals, we usually had one Au Pair girl. Since a few years we had two girls at the same time and it was the best decision. Work is always done much easier and quicker and the girls enjoy having company to share the tasks, go for cycle rides - or just sit by the pool.

Hours are usually divided between the morning (starting at around 09h00) to feed the horses, do some work in their field, then help with breakfast and looking after guests or guest-rooms. And then another hour or so in the late afternoon/ evening, usually to help watering the garden, walking the dog, feeding the horses etc. There are normally no very early starts, which former girls appreciated.
The total hours would be max. 5 hours per day (very often this is less!), five days a week.



Accommodation
Usually we offer a large bedroom on the second floor of the house (shared with another girl). The bathroom for this room is on the ground floor. In the off-season the helpers like to stay in our gite, where they are a bit independent. Meals are obviously always provided!


The afternoons and evenings (after our watering session) are usually free and the girls who were with us before enjoyed cycling along the canal, visiting Moissac or other towns, or just relax by the pool. From Moissac there is a train service to Montauban, Agen, Toulouse and Bordeaux - all definitely worth a visit.
St. Nicolas de la Grave is a village with all amenities like bakeries, supermarkets, post office, bank and pharmacy within walking distance.
2 km away is the “Plan d‘eau” with a lake and outdoor swimming pool.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use