help exchange   Host 90374
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


West Auckland
All Year: autumn/spring
Area (ha): 4.5
Persons: one or two
Category: Other
Host ID: 90374
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 25, 2019

We have a lovely historic home and large ornamental gardens, vegetable gardens and orchards as well as fire-wood tree plantings. we have some sheep, dogs, hens and fish ponds.
There are three dwellings on the property and two of our adult children and their children live in the other two dwellings. We have family working bee days once a month. There is the option of staying in the house or a sleepout in the garden. The sleepout does not have power or water but is situated in a pretty spot. We are a non smoking property. Our meals are mostly vegetarian but also our son does cooking and is a meat cooker. The work would be mainly weeding, mulching, weedeating, mowing, firewood prep. it would be useful to have some knowledge of plants so as to be able to weed the borders. We are very willing to help and teach about the gardens, fruit trees or any other work we are engaged in if that is required.
There is no public transport nearby, although a train to Auckland city is a 15 minute drive away. By car we are around 40 minutes to the central city. Usually there is someone around to give a lift to the station. We have internet but no cellphone coverage. Some of the family use cell phones through the wi-fi and we have an unlimited plan. We are about a ten minute drive to Bethells beach. Bethells beach is a surf beach but only when there are flags up there and life-savers on duty as it is prone to undercurrents. There is a cafe at Bethells beach in fine weather. There are a lot of tramps to do in the nearby Waitakere ranges, which is one of New Zealand's very beautiful bush areas. It is ten minutes to the closest shop. In the past our helpers have worked four or five hours a day and weekends free, unless they wanted to be in on the working bee. We are looking for someone for the end of March and into April for gardening and bulb planting. Also later in the year for pruning fruit trees. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use