help exchange   Host 90502
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Oliva
All Year: Not hosting at the moment
Area (ha): 6-7000 sq metres
Persons: 2 two
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 90502
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 13, 2019

Please note we are not hosting at the moment

THE PROJECT
This is a renovation project on a very low budget. There is a house with currently two bedrooms, one is for guests. It is a totally off grid property, with a well for water. The well water is not drinkable. If there is no sun, there is no power, there are candles for this eventuality, but there is usually always sun :D and the shower runs off
gas ;)

THE ACCOMMODATION
The spare room is small with a double bed, so if you are coming as friends, you need to be okay with sharing a bed. It is not heated, but the chimney pipe runs through it so takes the edge off the cold in winter. There is room in the grounds for a tent, motorhome or caravan....if you have any of these. There are emptying facilities for cassette toilets and a stand pipe for water outside. There is no internet connected here, but you can use the library, internet cafe or bring your own data as the signal is fine. There is no washing machine, but launderette in town.

THE HUB OF HOUSE
The kitchen is the hub of the house as it is the only comfortable downstairs room. It has a log burner, a big table, a two burner camping gas stove,but no oven. A sofa and obviously a sink.

THE WASHING FACILITIES
There is a basic shower with hot water, a toilet and washbasin in the bathroom. The bathroom is still undergoing renovation.

THE GROUNDS
The grounds although they have had a lot of work done, since it was a complete jungle when we arrived, still need a lot of clearance and management.

THE RESIDENTS
There is a large friendly dog, husband and wife with teenage daughter who live here in a motorhome We are English speaking, but learning Spanish. We like to think we are non prejudice. We are vegetarians who avoid milk, cheese and cream. We are familiar with gluten free and vegan diets. If you have a dietary complication/issue/need then we will try to accommodate you as best we can, if you let us know in advance (so that I can research :p) We are quite radical and open minded people who have spent many years travelling and home/free educated our children.

THE WORK
There is a lot of garden work, clearing scrub, digging etc. There may be building, electrical and plumbing work. If you like to have a project, this can be arranged...for example making trellis or fencing from the cane on the property.

PEOPLE WE ARE LOOKING FOR
We hope to have people who are happy to work as a team or with their own initiative. Sociable and friendly people.

OTHER INFORMATION
We are members of Couchsurfing, Warmshowers and Mindmyhouse, we are volunteers ourselves. We love to meet people and share ideas.

THE TOWN
The town has a launderette, various supermarkets, coffee bars, bike shops, vets,chinese shops that sell cheap wares of all kinds and a library etc. It is fifteen minutes walk, as is the beach.

LOGISTICS
We are closest to Valencia airport, but Alicante is also not too far. There are buses to Oliva but it does not have a train station. Gandia has a train station and buses are regular to Gandia which is about 7 miles away. There may be an old bike available to use for the town and beach.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use