help exchange   Host 91401
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Acton
All Year: May 1 - October 1
Area (ha): 18.2
Persons: 1-4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 91401
Region: New England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 9, 2019

We are a small family farm that focuses first and foremost on being stewards to a beautiful 45 acre piece of land (5 acres field, 40 acres forest) in Acton, Maine. 5 large lakes are within a few minutes driving distance, and our summer afternoons/siestas are typically enjoyed there on the canoe.

Magdalena is a massage therapist and natural medicine practitioner, Kurt is a former wilderness therapy instructor and crafty woodsman, Izzy is an energetic and eager-to-learn 3 year old, and Root is a wild and incredibly friendly terrier mix.

We have established several large garden beds that provide most of our food throughout summer and autumn, and are wanting to create more this spring. There is an abundance of wild medicinal plants on the property, which we use to make a variety of products like salves and tinctures. Meandering streams fill the forest edges and a pond with snow melt throughout early summer, and a plethora of trails make for a sweet scenery change.

The main things we will need help with:

1 person starting May 1, 2019
Mostly helping to clear the forest of dead/crowding trees, cutting and moving firewood, digging new garden beds with a rototiller. Your accommodations can be either tent camping at one of the many campsites, or staying on the closed in porch that has a bunk-style platform bed with two full mattresses.

2-4 people starting June 1, 2019
A couple with a young kiddo are encouraged to be in touch! Izzy would love another playmate on the farm.

We are about to begin renting out the main house as an Air B&B, and are hoping to have it booked at least 2 weeks per month. We may occasionally need help cleaning up after guests leave (laundry, cleaning floors and bathrooms, stocking supplies, etc.)

Clearing out the forest is an ongoing task, and something we would like to put a lot of energy into this year. Part of this will be making new campsites.

It will be time to transplant seedlings, water, feed, and prune established plants.

Harvesting wild medicinals is another ongoing project.
Later in the season, we will need help harvesting vegetables to ferment, freeze, and can. And to just eat amazing fresh food.

Accommodations will be tent camping on one of our campsites. We will have an outhouse, outdoor kitchen, and a small finished basement that can be used in inclement weather. We hope to have time between guests so that we can do personal laundry, and use the house for general needs/comforts that you would also be welcome to use.

We are flexible with what we ask for time/energy exchange, and how you choose to help on the farm.
16 hours per week is ideal for us.
Basic food staples will be provided for you to make your own breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and you are welcome to forage from any of the garden beds.
On work days, we will provide a healthy communal meal and are happy to modify based on dietary needs.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use