help exchange   Host 91687
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Vindeln
All Year: No
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 91687
Country: Sweden

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 23, 2019

We are a german family living in Västerbotten in northern Sweden. We are Julia 30, Philipp 31 and our two children (1 and 3 years old). We live on a small farm in Strycksele. The little rural Village is beautifully located close to the Vindeln River, one of the last unregulated Rivers in Sweden. On our little farm we have some chickens, a few sheep and a cosy little dog.
We studied both at the university (plant biotechnology and horticulture) but decided to settle for a life in the northern Swedish wilderness growing and selling our own vegetables. During summer and autumn we grow all different kinds of vegetables both on the field and in the greenhouses. It is a little family business and growing vegetables in the north Swedish climate can be challenging as the weather is not always on your site. But it is our passion and during summer and autumn a lot of our daily routines include the farming. Whenever possible we enjoy being outside in the nature at the river, a lake or in the forest.
We are delivering to a popular restaurant, selling at farmer markets and also to private customers.
We would need help from May till September and work could include help on the field with harvesting, weeds or planting. But also small renovation or painting of the farm building and taking care of our animals.
We are looking for someone who would stay a couple of weeks. An interest in agriculture /horticulture would be great, as you would get out most of your stay and we would also enjoy to learn about farming in your country.

We are cooperating with our friends and neighbors Elin and Simon (check out their page here: host 20870) so some of the days you will help them. They will also provide accomodation. They live close to the river and have a charming little cottage house overlooking the fields and the Vindeln River. All meals will be provided and likely include a lot of fresh veggies and farm eggs. We are vegetarian but Elin and Simon are not.
We would prefer 5 days work and a trial period of 2 weeks to make sure everything goes well.
If you have any questions, please write an email.
We hope to hear from you soon!
Philipp & Julia

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use