help exchange   Host 91807
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Bø i Vesterålen
All Year: All Year
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-3
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 91807
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 18, 2019

Help at small guesthouse/harbour property – and enjoy arctic nature and northern lights.

I have a nice, old harbour property, inherited from my grandparents. To maintain the place and it's history I have made parts of it into a small guesthouse, and during summer I open doors for tourists and local guests. From April until end of October I would love to welcome volunteers to come and stay and help (sometimes also during winter). Here you'll get the chance to learn about life in a small village in North Norway, and experience nature with hiking, wonderful views, ocean, midnight sun or northern lights. From around August 27th we normally see Northern lights out here.

Here I have historical buildings, old wooden boats, what ones was my grandmas garden and beautiful nature all around, which all need some helping hands. I live here with my big, proud cat, and there is always too much to do here. So it would be great to have some helpers coming this way, for some weeks or a month or two. I would appreciate help both with daily household tasks and to maintain the houses, do some painting, maintenance/construction, gardening, boats & bikes and to help keeping outdoor and indoor areas nice. During autum – when we have fewer guest – maintenance, repairing and new developments are things that needs to be done. So special skills in building & construction work and maintenance is highly needed.

Staying here you will learn about Norwegian culture, food, nature and traditions. If you are interested in ecotourism or learning Norwegian Language, I hope I can help you with that. I have worked for years internationally with ecotourism and responsible tourism, and I started ecotourism in Norway. I have enjoyed having volunteers here for some years before, and I really appreciated both the company and the help I recieved:-) We have beautiful nature all around with great hiking trails, ocean and isle, which I hope you will enjoy. The village with a few shops is 1-2 km away.

Accomodation offered: You'll stay in my guest house, there will be towels and bedlinen, and I provide all food. No special diets please, food will be Norwegian. (Could be you will have to share room with another volunteer. If guesthouse some days is full, I will find other, good accommodation for you.)

Hours of help: 5 hours a day, one day off per week. Minimum 4 weeks.

Looking forward to share this place with you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use