help exchange   Host 91954
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Quadra Island
All Year: No
Area (ha): 16
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 91954
Region: BC, Islands

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 10, 2020

Update: We are currently looking for some helpers to help us get ready for the 2020 growing season. If you would like to come to beautiful Quadra Island and work with us, please get in touch!

A few years ago we left our urban life and set forth on a journey across North America, volunteering on farms and learning about how to live differently on the earth.

Our journey brought us to Quadra Island where we recently purchased an old farm and are in the middle of converting it into a regenerative and thriving farmstead using permaculture, silvipasture, animal systems, compost, food forests...and lots of other awesome things! We think that animals are a very important part of creating a regenerative system. Currently we have chickens (layers and meat birds), ducks, geese, goats, 2 dogs and a cat, and soon we will be getting some sheep! We are very concerned about climate change and this is what is driving our determination to figure out how to live in a resilient and regenerative way. We also highly value living in community and sharing what we know with others, as well as learning from others in turn.

Quadra Island is a wonderful place to live. It is a beautiful place with a close-knit community of community-minded people, many of whom are on a similar journey to us. It has wonderful amenities, including 2 health food stores, 2 grocery stores, 2 bike shops, several restaurants and coffee shops, a great library, a winery, many beaches, etc, etc. It is also very easy to get away from it all and feel like you are far away from city life.

Location: We live on 40 acres, part of which is cleared and in pasture or gardens, and part of which is forested. We are walking or biking distance to Quathiaski Cove and the ferry to Campbell River. It is also easy to bike or hitchhike around the island to access all it has to offer.

Expectations: We require 5 hours of work per day, 5 days a week (usually Monday-Friday but can be negotiated) to help us set up the farm, including making and maintaining gardens, harvesting food, taking care of animals, planting trees, building fences and pathways, constructing various small structures, chopping wood, etc. Sometimes you will be working with us, other times you will need to work independently. We will give you the tools and knowledge you need to do a good job, and if you have questions or need help, please ask. In exchange you will learn a TON about how to farm in a regenerative way (building fertility, conserving water, cycling waste, growing healthy food and animals). We will share our knowledge with you, and you can also access our extensive library and do your own research online using our wifi in your free time. On your two days off per week or after work each day you may want to explore the many hiking trails or beaches on our island, or visit other nearby islands. We can also arrange for you to visit other farms and take advantage of other opportunities to learn and get involved in our community. As you may have guessed, learning about food and farming, and helping others, are big priorities for us.

Room and Board: You can bring your own accommodation or sleep in our Westfalia van (which we used while travelling across North America and volunteering on farms) or stay in our house (females only). You will eat some of your meals with us, and some on your own using food we provide and the kitchen in the van or the outdoor kitchen. We eat food we raised as much as possible, including fresh veg from the garden and fruit from the orchards, pasture-raised chickens and eggs. We also love to make sour dough bread, other ferments, and cheese when we have milk. We also do still need to buy some of our food. We try to but do not always eat organic. We will share responsibility for cooking and cleaning up for shared meals. Bathing is in the house or in a future outdoor shower. We hope to eventually convert all of our toilets to compost toilets and use our grey water to irrigate our garden.

We accept volunteers for up to two weeks at a time. If things are going well for you and us we can look at planning a longer stay.

If you are interested in volunteering with us, please send us an email. We would love to hear from you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use