help exchange   Host 92272
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Kimberley
All Year: July, Aug., Sept.
Area (ha): 7.86
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 92272
Region: BC, South Eastern

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 8, 2019


***LISTING PAUSED***

We are a full-time working, friendly, down-to-earth couple with a dog living on a rural acreage in the wonderfully relaxed East Kootenay region located in the southeast corner of beautiful British Columbia.

Originally from The Netherlands, we've spent the last five and a half years enjoying the good things in life surrounded by a beautiful mountain landscape, mountain culture, artistic lifestyles, and outdoor adventure.

Given the opportunity to purchase 20 acres of land in the Rocky Mountain Trench 20 minutes East of Kimberley and 20 minutes North of Cranbrook, we took a leap of faith knowing that good things come from hard work – and knowing that work can also be enjoyed.

Among the many things our area has to offer are: wildlife viewing, endless hiking/biking trails, two nice swimming lakes at 15 minutes driving distance and many more wonderful (fishing) lakes close by, horse back riding, natural and developed hot springs, outdoor and indoor mountain climbing, small mountain towns with vibrant arts and culture scenes, yoga retreat and studios, etc.

Come settle into Kootenay time and get in touch with what’s important: the simple things.

Languages: English, Dutch, and German

Volunteer hours: 20 hours per week

Help required: We need help with fencing, building gates, building a wood shed and fire wood kiln, gathering and splitting firewood, building a tiny A-frame cabin, basic landscaping, making our property more fire safe (pruning & raking).

Accommodation: You will be staying in a large tent with outhouse and outdoor shower. If needed you could also use the bathroom in our house. A refreshing dip in the creek that runs through our property is another option to wash away the dirt of a few hours' work.

The tent has a comfortable queen size box spring bed, room to store clothes and a small seating area. As soon as the tiny A-frame cabin has been built, you could stay in the cabin.

We can accommodate one single person or one couple.

Learning opportunities: You will have the chance to meet lots of people from different Nationalities. Our next door neighbours have horses and are very active in the local roping community. Another neighbour who is a biologist has sheep and lots of Border Collies and is actively involved in sheep herding. We are part of the local arts community. We would also be able to help improve your knowledge of the English language.

Additional info: There will be lots of opportunities to catch a ride into either Kimberley or Cranbrook. One of us works in Cranbrook at least 5 days a week, the other in Kimberley 4 afternoons a week.

We love to go hiking, biking and swimming whenever we can and you are very welcome to join us.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use