help exchange   Host 92297
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Redmond
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 92297
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 29, 2019

Dear Helpers,

We are a young international family, Cristiano and Naiella. We come from interesting backgrounds and families who enjoy time together, and after living in various places around the world, we ended up loving the beautiful natural scenery of the Pacific Northwest (Seattle area).
We enjoy meeting people from all over the world, as we have also travelled extensively and understand what it is like to arrive to friendly hospitality.
We purchased one hectare within the tall-tree forest, not far from the Cascade mountains, various Pacific Ocean beaches, and numerable lakes which are great for swimming in summer and autumn.

Please read the full description and answer a few simple questions when you email us.

We are working hard since several years to make this land more sustainable to support a self-sufficient lifestyle, part of this goal is to share such a lifestyle with friends and helpers who are interested and wanting to make a positive change in the world.

We curently have a small variety of hens and chickens, next we will like to get other poultry such as ducks and geese, as well as a small flock of sheep, goats, piglets, Our vegetable garden is in fluctuation and needs some improvement influenced by permaculture and hugelkultur. We grow several herbs and plantsWe also have a growing orchard of about 10 varieties of fruits. We are not certified Organic. But we try our best to follow organic practices and use all methods that we know for a healthy lifestyle.

We try to produce as much of our own food as possible, such as bread baking, yogurts, kombucha, and of course using the landís ingredients for soups and cooking. We appreciate a colaborative effort in cooking and baking, where we share ideas and enjoy the time all together.

We speak several languages at home, as Spanish, German, English, French, Swedish, and familiar with others. We embrace different religious beliefs, and if you need space for your meditations or prayers, know that we respect such.
Although we embrace technology, our home is a space to interact and relax and take some steps away from the booming outside stimulus, therefore we encourage limited cel phone / screen time, and hope you can take in the visual beauty of the surrounding nature.
We have a capacity to host 2 to 3 helpers at a time, year round.

Our activities are many and varied, such as gardening, weeding, care of the animals, woodwork, masonry/stone work, and many others. Electric and plumbing knowledge a plus.
Also, if you are a teacher or have experience working with children on nature awareness, building, athletics/sports or knowledgeable nature exploration, we can also use help with the kids (age 9 and 6).

Our proposal to you: to have accomodation in a nice atmosphere, with excellent meals (3 per day), we will do our best to transfer you as much as possible all our knowledge and know-how for a happy and healthy life. And when we go into town or on small weekend nature trips, you are most welcome to come along. Our meals are almost certainly organic, we enjoy a glass of wine or beer at dinner. Smoking or drugs are not suitable here!
What we ask of you is a positive and good attitide, a passion for sharing and happiness to help 5-6 hours per day.

Previous DIY experience is very welcome!
At home, we live as a small community where everyone participates in common tasks, as setting up the table, help with dinner preparation, clear table and dishes, etc. Also we will be happy to share with you the preparation of meals, breads, recipes, and much more!

In your free time, you can enjoy our bikes, surrounding trails, ping-pong table, garden games, and much more. Bring your passport for a weekend or day trip to Vancouver Canada.

Thank you for taking the time to read and write to us. We look forward to meet you soon,
Cristiano and Naila

* So we can get a good initial idea, please answer the following questions. We will definitely get back to you:

1) When do you plan to visit us?
2) For how long - dates? (We prefer at least 3-4 weeks)
3) Where are you coming from now? (City, village, place, Ö)
4) Do you have any special diet or food restrictions?
5) Are there religious observations when you will not work?

We are open and welcoming to different skill levels and ages, but please don't represent yourself when applying.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use