help exchange   Host 92494
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Brookfield
All Year: Seasonal
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 92494
Region: Nova Scotia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 13, 2019

Hello everyone!
Are you travelling across Canada and need a planned pit stop? Do you need a spot to park a camper for the summer? Then let's trade. In exchange for 2 hours ofhelp each day for 4 days or one eight hour day you can park your camper or tent on my land. We are located in a unique spot if you are looking for privacy. A longer term can be accommodated.

My partner and I recently acquired 2 acres of rural property that was left in rough shape by the previous owners. We spent most of last summer removing hundreds of old tyres and garbage from the land. There is still more to remove. You won't handle any of that.

We are currently working on building an offgrid tinyhouse community starting from scratch on 2 acres of rough country land 30 minutes from Truro. A vehivle would be an asset. This is an exciting and ambitious project for me and I need a few extra hands.

If you are enthusiastic, physically fit and willing to work on the construction of wooden buildings on wheels we welcome you. Some experience with wood structures would be helpful. An understanding of Nova Scotia/Canada's building code would be an asset.

We are currently working on setting up a gravel pad to place and level the first building. Not much to do at this stage but enthusiastic and energetic individuals needed to help. Then we will need an individual/s with basic carpentery or building experience to help with some minor renovations such as building 3 interior/partition walls. We need 2 windows and 1 door removed and replaced, we may need some roofing advice.

If you are a handyman/woman with skills in carpentry, drywalling, painting, repairs, general construction.... let us know your skills and we'll let you know what we have that might be suitable for you! If you come as a pair, that would be great! We prefer couples. No single men without detailed references.

We are not looking for people to do yard work or gardening tasks. I am not big on lawn care or flowers. I prefer to farm food. After your 2 hours your day is yours. You can roam the countryside go fishing or go to the nearby town.
There are seasonal jobs around if you prefer to work off-site.

I look forward to meeting people who want to get together, share a meal and our cultural backgrounds around a campfire in our huge front yard .. maybe roasting a possum on a stick lol. We will cook up a few smores instead. However, if my guests prefer to be left alone then i will respectfully oblige.

As we are on 2.0 acres in the country you'll likely get to meet lots of wildlife: deer, owls, bats, coyotes, bears, frogs, pheasants ... lots more! You can even star gase depending on where you set up your camper.

Since we are off grid some things will be limited. However, I do have a street light on the property so that there is a sense of safety. There will be Internet services and we are 420 friendly.

All nationality and ethnic background are welcome. You must be able to speak & or understand English

Helpers are needed for summer/fall season June-December 2019.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use