help exchange   Host 92570
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


San Carlo (AT)
All Year: April-October
Area (ha):
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 92570
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 14, 2019

Beautiful brick farmhouse on the top of a hill surrounded by bushland. Many wild herbs and fruit trees (hazelnuts, cherries, walnuts, elder, mulberries...).
It's the family house where I grew up and I've now decided to move back here permanently with the plan of slowly turning it into a self-sufficient food forest. My approach is very experimental; I like permaculture ideas, Fukuoka ideas, concepts like syntrophy and letting nature do her job by simply filling her with seeds and plants.
The long term project is also to develop a seed bank and an educational centre (traditional arts and foods, gardening, small scale farming...).
At the moment there is a lot of work cleaning pathways in the bush, freeing plants from suffocating ivy, collecting firewood, cleaning and tidying bushland close to the house, planting trees and herbs from seeds...
On the projects list, there is: a plant nursery, a woodshed, a solar dehydrator, a solar shower, a composting toilet. So if you have carpentry skills that's a bonus!
Also, a lot of time is spent collecting wild food and medicine and processing it (drying, preserving, fermenting...). I love making ferments (water and milk kefir, cheese, mead, vinegar), handcrafted pasta, soap... I also love traditional crafts of all sorts. There is a good library of books to read. The diet is predominantly plant-based but it's ok to cook and eat meat in the house. I am a cook and artisanal pasta maker and I'm always happy to prepare nourishing meals, share recipes and teach what I know. Internet is limited to checking emails and doing small online research, you'll have to get a local sim card if you need more. There is a nearby village with a train station where you can be picked up if you don't have a car. All cultures, genders and ages are welcome as long as you respect the house, the people and the land. Bonus skills that I really value at the moment are: knowledge in agriculture, forest management, permaculture, plant recognition, herbalism, tree pruning, chainsawing, carpentry, wood carving. You will be asked to do 5h of work per day. The rest of the time you are welcome to take part in other activities or do your own things. I'm exploring the area myself and visiting small producers to create a network, you're welcome to join these excursions. Sunday is rest day. If you want to have a few days off, you can work more hours on other days. You can see more pictures on our Instagram link above.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use