help exchange   Host 9276
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 56
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 9276
Region: North Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 17, 2018

Hi. If you want to be immersed in horses then this is the place to be. We are on 150 acre property with 50-60 acres of virgin native bush to wander through with approximately 50 gypsy vanners and crossbreds horses here. Gypsy vanners are incredibly quiet and forgiving. Our horses are raised naturally in herds 24/7 with their respective stallions and the foals stay in the herd environment till they are about 1 year of age. They are then taken out or naturally weaned, kept in filly or colt herds until they are ready to be trained with natural horsemanship techniques. This is a great learning experience for anyone that is keen to learn about how to be one with the horse and understand their language. It is not about riding as we believe that no should just ride a horse, but must first earn their respect and spend much time on the ground connecting. They are sentiment beings that have so much to offer us in many ways and opportunities like this usually cost 100ís of dollars.

Also we will be building the walls of our cob home and if you would love to learn about this ancient technique then another great opportunity to take part in some fun. This will be ongoing on the farm this summer.

We are 20 minutes away from the beaches and love to take some of our horses and dogs down there for a walk in the water. Normally we are swamped with children wanting horsey rides so never a dull moment as gypsy vanners are magnets in the publics eyes. Nothing is routine around here as we also make kayaking equipment and from time to time we need help cutting materials and such. Your host use to paddle for the Canadian and NZ white water kayaking team back so she is more than adapt at showing you how to kayak and even learn how to eskimo roll. A trip to the beach usually means playing in surf and lots of fun.

Jobs include feeding out, harrowing paddocks, washing and grooming horses and helping out in general farm maintenance around the property. This is a learning environment and besides learning about all manners of horses, your host as a very keen knowledge of alternative healing methods for both humans and animals alike that you can learn about. We are also keen organic gardeners and you will learn about some very old techniques that have almost been lost in how to make your garden grow like a weed.

There is no TV here and cell phone reception is minimal, so if you are not into the horses in your free time or taking long walks you will have nothing to do, unless you love to read. Sometimes on the hill you can get reception but not always guaranteed. Accommodation is living in the horse truck with two bunks. We can set up your own internet connection if you have a laptop to use as we do not let others share our only computer. There is no shower, but always a hot bath at night outside and great way to unwind while star gazing.

Would be handy to have your own transportation, but not necessary if you are happy to hang out here. Food is mostly organic fruit, nuts and veges, with the occasional chocolate treat at the famous Bennetís chocolate shop! If you are into eating meat, dairy and wheat then this will not suit you. Looking for people who are happy to work hard in a relaxing environment and can take their own initiative without always being told. Must be happy in their own space. Suit more the hardy type and looking for longer stays over 3 weeks +. No smokers please and looking forward to hearing from you.

Cheers Kathy and the gang

PS please email me directly as I have found that 90% of messages are not getting to me through this medium.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use