help exchange   Host 92961
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Quedjinup
All Year: No
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 92961
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 26, 2020

** Looking for new helpers to start Wednesday 1 July **

Stay in a Scandinavian-style cottage all your own in WA’s stunning south-west

Our 5-acre block ‘Karri Patch’ near Dunsborough is part gardens and part native bush, and we need some helping hands on and off during 2020. We're currently looking for new helpers to start Wednesday 1 July. (We are also looking for helpers who plan to be available during February and March 2021, see at the bottom for more information about this.)

Because of COVID-19, we're most keen on helpers who have been in the south-west of WA for some time and for people who are in good health, and who are happy to follow social distancing rules (interacting with us outside, staying 1.6m apart, and following good hygiene practices when you are out to minimise the risk of you bringing infection back).

Karri Patch belongs to Pippa and Richard, and also living on the property is their daughter, Jo, and her husband Dylan, who are in their 30s. Jo is busy with a toddler and baby and Dylan works long hours so has little time on the property.

Outdoor jobs might include staining outdoor furniture, fences and cladding, constructing netting structures, making compost, pruning fruit trees, maintenance jobs, fuel reduction in the bush, and helping in the veggie garden. We have chickens and a friendly dog, which you are welcome to walk. There might also be some small inside jobs like cleaning.

Helpers who are practical are best, and we’re keen to hear what your skills, experience and interests are. People with carpentry skills would be great.

Your accommodation is a two-bedroom, two-bathroom self-contained cottage. Usually we take a couple or pair of friends and then you have the whole cottage to yourself. (If you're a solo traveller we may ask if you're happy sharing with one other helper. In this case you'll have shared access to the living room and kitchen area, but your own bedroom and en-suite bathroom.) The cottage is usually used for paying holidaymakers so is very comfortable (see photos below of your cottage). There's a washing machine in one of the bathrooms. There's a well-equipped kitchen, and most meals will be self-catering and separate from us. The cottage does not have internet.

We usually like to share about a meal a week.

Our hope is for three to four hours a day (we find some people work more efficiently than others!), five days a week, or equivalent by mutual agreement. Evenings and weekends are yours to use as you please.

Dunsborough is in the popular Margaret River wine and tourism region. We are great base from which to explore the stunning coastline, caves, forests and many tourist attractions around, and there’s also plenty of pubs, cafes and shops nearby. We are a 7-minute drive from Dunsborough and Yallingup, so having a car would help. You could walk to town, but it would take a while!

Two people preferred - either a couple or two friends - though we will consider single travellers, or more than two. No smokers please.

Dates available – on and off through 2020. We usually prefer to start with a week trial, then extend up to a fortnight or more if all is going well.

In addition to the above dates in 2020, we are keen to hear from people who would be available for February and March 2021, particularly people who like both outside work and helping with young children - perhaps a couple with these different interests between them. It would involve helping take the children to swimming lessons two days a week (you look after one child while I swim with the other). Ideally, we’d like to meet you first or at least to talk to your references regarding your experience with children. You would still have plenty of time to enjoy the beach and good weather so this could be an amazing working holiday for two summer months in the popular Margaret River tourist region.

Please HelpX message rather than call/text message as we are often too busy to answer the phone but will get to our emails in the evenings.

Thanks! We look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use