help exchange   Host 93129
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1,4
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 93129
Country: Sweden

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 22, 2020

We, Tessan and Peter, have a small apiary that we run with organic methods and a summertime café that serve cookies, cakes and simple food, all mainly containing organic or locally produced ingredients. We have a very small forest, a garden that was once wellknown for its herbs, a workshop and sometimes we host courses or events for the local community as well.

More than ten years ago I (Tessan) was travelling as a helper myself, great experiences staying with different people and doing everything from picking stones in Australia's outback to cleaning rooms in a NZ lodge. Now when I finally have a place of my own I want to contribute the worldwide community by hosting as well.

Accomodation: We have a small guest-cottage with a double bed that helpers can stay in. It has electricity but no water so toilet and shower can be used in the main house. This is a cat-free area so those of you who get itchy eyes from our feline friends are also welcome to stay. In wintertime we have a spare bedroom in the house for helpers but it's low season so helpers might get bored...

Work: We have a very, very long list of things to do here depending on the season and the helpers. Woodwork, baking, garden work, helping with the bees, cleaning up outside (previous owners have neglected most of the garden), café work, honey production, painting, recycling, collecting wild herbs for te/marmelads/syrups or learning/helping with leather tanning. If you do other handcrafts, are skilled with sewing or just wanna try pruning trees there is room for that too! Photography, webbdesign, permaculture - well, I think most people would be helpful to us! We expect 4-5 hours of work daily for food and accommodation but are flexible on when they are carried out.

Food: Helpers are welcome to share meals with us and are expected to contribute to the cooking while staying with us so that we all help. :) Nearest shop is 15 minutes away by car so we usually go together once a week. We eat everything ourselves but prefer locally or organic produce over conventional. Of course we are considerate of food allergies or preferences.

Surroundings: We live in the forest and the best season is Swedish summer, May to September. Then you can borrow bikes to explore the area, take a swim in a nearby lake, go visit coastal city Kalmar or tour the glass district that we are located in with a rich history in glass design och production. There is also a moose park, a James Bond museum and a dinosaur park as well as lots of small villages to explore only 15-30 minutes away!

Welcome to help us creating this meeting point for people and creatures!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use