help exchange   Host 93327
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Halifax
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .3
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 93327
Region: Nova Scotia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 25, 2019

We have a lovely property situated on St. Margarets Bay. The house and barn are some of the original constructions of the area (100+ years old), and at one time the house served as the French Village post office! The house has been converted into two flats, and the barn has served as many things over the years. Most recently, we've built a 14'x12' "tiny house" inside the barn - where we've lived for the past two years.

We are a couple in our thirties, I am a teacher and my husband is the production manager at a local boat building company. I'm home most days in the summer, and enjoy a balance between work (mostly in the garden) and play (mostly in or on the ocean). Helpers would have flexibility to find a similar balance, and the expectation would be to put in 4-5 hours a day working on the property (tasks to be negotiated in advance) and playing or relaxing. We have a guitar, hammock, and great views of the ocean, as well as a large backyard with a fire pit. There is a small beach right across the road, and another larger beach a short cycle/paddle/jog/drive away. We'd respect your privacy and also be up for some social time together during your stay.

We're now working on the upper unit of the house, and are looking for some extra hands to help with property maintenance and landscaping/gardening. We have a 20'x45' vegetable garden that requires regular tending and would like to improve the landscaping around the property (building small rock walls, perennial beds, trimming and pruning, weeding, etc.). Some small carpentry projects are also on the table (building an outdoor shower, deck, etc.) if someone has these skills.

We are right across the road from the water and enjoy boating, paddling, and swimming just steps from the door. The area has great beaches and is about 10-15 minutes from amenities. We'd be able to help out with transportation for some short excursions around the local area.

Accommodations could be the barn "loft" which has a queen bed, pull-out couch, kitchen (running cold water only) and composting toilet OR one of the bedrooms inside the upper flat, which has a full kitchen and plumbed bathroom - as well as a beautiful view of French Village Harbour and the St Margarets Sailing Club. Tents or campers are also welcome if you happen to be travelling this way. Meals are also negotiable - if you'd rather be supplied with groceries (and fresh produce form the garden) and do your own thing, that works - or I can prepare your meals throughout the week.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use