help exchange   Host 93361
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


TREVE
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.6
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 93361
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 10, 2020

UPDATE: France is coming out of lockdown at the moment and we're taking it one day at a time just now. I'm sure we'll be able to welcome helpers later in the year, maybe as early as September - love to hear from you.

We - our 45 alpacas, two dogs, three cats and us - live on a small farm on the edge of a village in central Brittany. It is a peaceful place with a small wood and a stream running through the land. There’s lots of birds here and it’s a rare day that has no birdsong, even in winter.

The weather here is usually mild in winter - more rain than snow! Summer is mostly pleasantly warm.

I'm looking for someone who will join in with what we’re doing - everything from feeding the alpacas to collecting poo! You can learn all about these wonderful gentle creatures and how a small alpaca farm works.

I also have many years of building experience and would welcome help with the building and renovation projects on the farm.

Depending on the weather and the time of the year, we could be fleece sorting, nail trimming, fencing paddocks, putting up animal shelters or doing just about anything else that needs done on the farm to make sure that everyone has the best life possible.

Our main product is alpaca fibre, from fleece to finished product. You could learn about fleece and how it's used in spinning, felting and dyeing.

We're looking forward to learning from you too!

Work isn't hard, but it can be physical and you will need work clothes.


Practical information:
In return for your help, you’ll have your own spacious bedroom with shower room and of course we’ll make sure you’re well-fed! We have a varied diet but we do not cater for any 'restricted' diets, such as vegetarian or gluten-free.
The farm is a non-smoking site for health and safety reasons and we do not accept couples, children or pets.
Mobile phone coverage is variable, but you can use our WiFi while you're here.
Our village has a bar, a bakery, a small grocery store, a hairdresser, a creperie and a hotel/restaurant – easily reached on foot in 5 minutes.
Our nearest town is about four kilometres away, with a cinema, swimming pool and equestrian centre.
Outdoors, there's a lot to do in the area, particularly cycling and walking – bike trails and walking routes are well-represented – and there are water activities at the Lac de Guerlédan, about 20 minutes’ drive from here.
The beautiful north Breton coast is about 30 minutes away by road, with its beaches and walking trails.
There is good public transport between towns in Brittany, so it’s pretty easy to get around. We also have a bike you could use.
English is our first language and my partner also speaks good French.
If you think you'd like to come and help, tell us about yourself.
We also would appreciate around 10 days’ notice to ensure we can give you a proper welcome!

reviews (2)
Helper: Sarah Jane Rose Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: November 3, 2019
From the moment I arrived, Mo & Stewart welcomed me and took great care to ma... view complete review

Helper: Stéphane Howley Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: July 5, 2019
Mo and Stu are kind and great company. They live in the countryside in a p... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use