help exchange   Host 93470
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Porirua
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 25
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 93470
Region: Wellington

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 1, 2020

****Hi there, we are looking for farm stays during February and March, to help around the house and farm, thank you****
We are a UK family living on a small farm or large lifestyle block. We moved to NZ IN 2013. Paul and I were police officers in the Uk for over 50yrs between us, here in NZ Paul investigates charity fraud and I am a advocate at Women's Refuge. The other major part of my life is healing, spiritual and animal communication. We have two boys 17 & 14yrs. They both love rugby and have their dirt bikes which the love riding around the farm and the nearby forest. We are a for FUN farm, we have a few cows, 2 horses, chickens and ducks, dogs and cats.
The property is in Moonshine Valley, Upper Hutt, 30 minutes from NZ's capital city Wellington, 40 minutes from the beautiful beach Kapiti Coast, and 30 minutes from the Remutaka Hills and forest. Nearby there is plenty of farmland to walk, access to the Akatarawa forest for walking and cycling plus the valley is a well used road biking trail.
We are looking for someone or a couple (there is a double bedroom offered) to come join our family and help us around the farm.
Jobs would include fertilizing/paddock maintenance ( we have a quad bike), gardening, wood splitting (with a machine) and if you enjoy it some DIY around the house such as painting or small jobs. You will have access to a car so you can explore the beautiful city.
We would prefer people on longer stays, 1 month or more but are happy to consider shorter stays.
We have our first Helpx couple with us at the moment and we love the experience, we also had 4 au pairs when the children were little, from Germany and Estonia. These became part of the family and are still close to us, we attended their wedding and visited them in their home. One even came back to live with us for 6 months. I'm sure they would be happy to give us a reference if needed.
We cannot wait to meet new people and share our beautiful piece of NZ paradise and welcome you to our family

reviews (3)
Helper: Vincent Schmeling Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: December 27, 2019
If you are looking for a farm feeling like home, your search has find an end ... view complete review

Helper: Lloyd DAVID Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: New Zealand Date: October 22, 2019
I spent two very pleasant two week periods with Tina, Paul, Dan and Jake on t... view complete review

Helper: Laurène and Théo Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: July 30, 2019
It’s already been 2 weeks we’ve been hosted in the Budd’s family and we could... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use