help exchange   Host 93694
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Almanzora
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.28
Persons: 4
Category: Other
Host ID: 93694
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 18, 2019

Biography: We're Kate & Dominic, originally from the UK we are now residents in Spain. We recently spent three years travelling, mostly in Spain, in two classic Hymermobil motorhomes. During that time we were volunteers with various HelpX hosts. Previously we've individually been involved in diverse voluntary projects, in places such as the Caribbean, Cambodia and Europe. Kate is a permaculturalist, gardener and cryptocurrency trainer with a degree in sustainable development. Dominic has run his own handyman business, worked in the voluntary sector,taught English in Cambodia as well having lots of pointless jobs too.

We now have a small olive grove (2,800m2) in the Almanzora valley in Almeria province that we are restoring using permaculture and sustainable technology. We have installed 2x6 metre yurts - one that we live in, the other will be for volunteers, workshops, courses, a venue for hire and fiestas.

Currently, our situation is very basic until the construction is finished of the building that will have our kitchen, shower and guest toilet. This may not happen until the end of January because there has been a delay with the building permit. Until the building is complete, we are happy to host volunteers who are self contained in their own campervan, motorhome or similar on the understanding that we will provide a safe, quiet place for you to park, buy the groceries for you to prepare your meals, provide water from the local public supply. We have a porta potti that you can use if you don't have one of your own (no chemicals please) and a place to empty it. If you are happy with such an arrangement then you are most welcome any time after the beginning of January 2020.

In terms of work/duties/relevant skills, there may be small construction projects, maintenance of solar and wind energy systems, ground clearance, planting, olive tree management and implementing a permaculture design plan. We are also very happy to practice Spanish.

This is an opportunity for you to learn dry climate permaculture and/or deepen your permaculture skills. Our expectations are that you would work for 4 or 5 hours, 5 days a week. We ask that you make a commitment for a minimum of 1 week. Unfortunately we cannot accept volunteers who have dogs as we have 2 rescued cats.

In our travels, we were HelpX volunteers and we experienced both the good and not so good in terms of what our hosts expected of us. Our aim is for you to enjoy your time with us, to learn new skills and to have time to explore the area where we live.

We're on the edge of a village, walking distance from 2 shops, bakery, pharmacy and 3 bars. We're only a few minutes drive from the local market town and 40 minutes from the beaches of Mojacar, Vera and Palomares.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use