help exchange   Host 93818
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


London
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.125
Persons: 4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 93818
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 17, 2019

A permaculture learning project involving learning about horticulture and self build construction to reduce Carbon Emissions in Zone 2 of London, UK. The opportunity to improve English language skill through self-build constuction work and horticulture. Minimum duration two weeks. You need to be used to physical work.

This is not a farm, we are an education centre, but I am learning and tutoring, using this large zone 2/3 city garden to grow vegetables organically with enthusiastic young people who wish to learn new skills and sharpen their English. We also tutor young students.


6 hours of volunteering per day, total 30 hours, during the week with two off days. Starting at 08.00 to 14.00 Breakfast at 07.00 and lunch at 14.00. All vegetarian foods rice, oats, flour, lentils and chickpeas are provided. At this moment fresh vegetables are growing in the garden. Frozen vegetables are in the freezer.

The project is not funded by UNESCO soil4life soil regeneration project but we are trying to follow their ideas and principles. We were involved in writing the soil4life manifesto in October 2019. We are going to start giving soil regeneration/protection classes to local community.

I teach volunteers to renovate, redecorate and maintain an organic garden. Volunteers interested in gardening and construction and some experience can apply. In exchange for volunteering I tutor English language but for safety reasons please have at least intermediate English. Couples of same nationality are not invited as this does not help with their English language learning, however when couples are of different nationality like French and Brazilian and their language of communication is English then this volunteering might help them improve their English.

Accommodation offered is private or shared. Own bedrooms need to be tidied on daily basis. It is a license to live as a family. I will ask you to sign a code of conduct on arrival. Meal cooking is shared by everyone as is dish washing and keeping the kitchen clean and keeping the bathrooms clean. This is done in the free time. It is vegetarian/vegan existence. There are many house rules about cleanliness and tidiness.

Volunteers need to be able to lift at least 10 to 20 litres of water, to irrigate the garden and shower in about 25 litres of water. We collect rain water. Two washing machines are available. Do your best to conserve water. This part also part of the permaculture project.

Please ask for more information.

Please send to my email a scan of your passport, proof of your family address.
Before I can accept you for volunteering I need to have a what's app video discussion about safety.

I live in Zone 2, Battersea/Clapham, in a rare house designed in 1830 and built after, in the South of London, SW12 8TY , far from the Luton and Stanstead Airports. It is a tedious journey from Heathrow. It is not ideal for one night transits. Clapham Junction is closer to Gatwick airport. This is not good for early morning outbound flights from Luton or Stanstead.

We have two stray black cats that have adopted us.

There are lots of books and a large garden with a family of 5 foxes, several neighbour's cats, plenty of bird life and squirrels. One grey cat jumps up to the 1st floor and stares through the window. The first time you will see only two tiny red eyes and just make out a grey body around the eyes in the night. A squirrel climbs the drain pipe and they are known to enter and steal nuts. A robin redbreast flies into the kitchen and dinning room. Starlings nest in the eaves and pigeons nest under the solar panels. Birds sing during the night because of light pollution and even more at dusk.

There is a cherry tree and 300 year old Mulberry tree from the time of the Huguenot. They started a lace industry in Wandsworth. When the Mulberry tree bares fruit there is a competition between us and the bird community as to who picks the most fruit.

The river Wandle is worth exploring, it is about 12 miles long and since Roman times has been a hive of industry given the mechanical force. I recommend the River Wandle museum. I am a member of British museum and can get one person into the exhibition for free. Sometimes I can obtain free tickets to to concerts and talks.
If you start the request conversation with the word "Teodozja , your grandmother ", I will know that you have read my profile.
I will update photographs as project continues.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use