help exchange   Host 9413
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Melbourne
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 800m
Persons: 1 - 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 9413
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 20, 2019

I need a major tidy up of our yards. The front needs some timber slabs sorted, sold and stacked and a reorganisation. The back needs the same.
After this there are a host of fiddly things including finishing the kitchen - under sink cabinets..., sorting the aquaponic systems in the back, getting better at making heat pellets, perhaps milling some timber, organising some bees.... There is also some cleaning and sorting rooms for airbnb guests.

You can see my profile for more details or watch this video of us and our place. Basically I have a house where we host lots of folk and grow lots of food. We have had some fabulous helpers from this site who have helped with lots of great super projects. Sing out if you want to come and play. Paul

If you write to us that you advise when you might want to come, how long you might want to stay and if you want to work 2 hours for accom only or four for accom and meals.

We also play on airbnb and the site asks for rules for our home. We don't like to live by heaps of rules but here is what we have there to give you an idea of how our home operates.

Our house is alive with all sorts of plants and animals busy growing and working away. The bees furiously making honey, the fish growing and providing nutrient for the plants, the worms processing fish wastes, the plants de-nitrifying the water for the fish, the chickens processing kitchens scraps into eggs, the spiders catching bugs and compost and all sorts of microbes and subsoil biota providing for the plants.

We have all sorts of people stay and are pretty flexible. Here are some of the usual practices
1. We take our shoes of at the door. We do this cause if feels nice, reduces the work cleaning floors and means we are not traipsing compost throughout the house. We have several crocs at the doors for us and guests. We usually just have a thickish pair of socks for the house in winter.
2. We don't kill all our household spiders. They do a job keeping the insects down in the house, especially when processing honey and they are fascinating to watch.
3. We turn appliances off at the power switches. A fella had this device and demonstrated how much electricity was being leaked when they were left on.
4. We have three bins in the kitchen - one for food scraps for the chooks, one for recycling and one for rubbish. Oh and please, no bottled water - its an eco nightmare and Melbourne's tap water is delicious.
5. When cooking, you must remain in the kitchen. 80% of household fires start with unattended cooking - so we ensure against this by insisting everyone remain in the kitchen when the stove is on.
6. Only Paul works the wood and pellet heaters and the auto ceiling bed.
7. We enjoy children and welcome them to our house. Our house has at least the usual array of risks and you must supervise your children in the home at all times. We have a pond, bees and all sorts of ways to injure oneself. Please respect the risks.
8. Please respect others in the house who may be working. We like to reduce the noise after 10pm and before 8am.
9. We do not accept bookings from guests who are not vaccinated. We have a young son and like science, reasoning and randomised, double blind, placebo controlled replicable tests.
10. We require that guests treat others in our home including women and other guests who may be gay equally.

reviews (8)
Helper: Anouck and Guillaume Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: January 30, 2017
Thank you so much for those last time in Australia, Paul is a very kind and f... view complete review

Helper: Grégory and Chloe Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: January 27, 2017
Paul, Julia and James is a very pleasant family. Paul is very funny and very ... view complete review

Helper: Flavie and Guillaume Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 23, 2016
We stayed one week at Paul & Julia's home. It was our first HelpX experience ... view complete review

Helper: Sin mei and Chit fung Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Hong Kong Date: March 22, 2015
It's a wonderful stay in Paul & Julia 's home! We stay here for 2 weeks, I th... view complete review

Helper: Sébastien BILLY Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: January 29, 2014
In december 2013, i stayed two weeks at Paul and Julia's home. It was very n... view complete review

Helper: Marcjasz Matthaeus Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: February 2, 2013
I stayed nearly one month in this comfy place. And I will have to give two aw... view complete review

Helper: Stéphanie and Mickael Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: December 2, 2011
Paul and Julia were almost our very first hosts in Australia. We stayed there... view complete review

Helper: Alexandre pinel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: January 3, 2011
Paul and julia's place is very nice, quiet and no stress. When i arrived pau... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use