help exchange   Host 94150
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Red Creek
All Year: April-Nov of 2020
Area (ha): 60 acres
Persons: 1...maybe 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 94150
Region: Mountain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 19, 2020

Are you tired of the rat race? Tired of being tethered to your Technology? Looking to get away from it all?
Me too!!! So I came up here to the Mountains of West Virginia.
"Country Roads take me home..." YES, that West Virginia!!!
I'm in a cozy, recently updated 120 year old 2 story wood framed house nestled on 60 acres. With Apple trees, wild berries, natural spring water, deer in the front yard, fireflies at night and some of the most breathtaking views out on the "back forty".
It's not completely in the middle of nowhere, heck there's a county road just 100 feet from the front porch. However, the nearest gas station is 15min away, the nearest grocery store is less than 30min away and the nearest town is less than an hour away.
There is cell phone service, better for AT&T users. No WiFi or TV! There are a few radio stations on the stereo.
Yes, we have electricity and actual spring fed water!
If your looking to get away from it all, but not get stuck out in the middle of nowhere, then this is a happy medium.

Would like to have someone who is ok being alone as well as working alone.
*REALLY needing someone who is proficient in interior and exterior painting as well as proper cleanup and cleaning of painting tools and equipment.
Not looking for Bob Ross, just a good painter or someone with patience willing to learn.
Familiarity with hand tools and yard tools a big plus.
Depending upon arrival, pruning of apple trees and yard work and maintenance is always an option as well.
If there are any carpentry,plumbing,electrical or other projects in progress at the time of your visit, then "IF" I am in need of your assistance I have no problem teaching you what I know.
Depending on your skill set and level, you will be left alone to complete your 20 hours a week of HelpX hours.
The days are beautiful and the weather is always nice to work in.
Working days are easy and relaxed.
Just put in 4 honest working hours a day and the rest of the time is for you to do whatever!

20 HelpX hours per week will be required.
In exchange we will provide $100 a week for your groceries as well as a solitary bedroom upstairs with a kingsize bed and a private bathroom.

Anyone choosing to come out here must have their own transportation.
Transportation will be needed for you to obtain your own groceries, for your own entertainment and for the ability to arrive and leave the property.
You will be responsible for cooking your own meals and your own entertainment.
There are 60 acres for you to wander and enjoy. If you need to go to town for entertainment then this is not the place for you.
You are not required to stay on the property after your 4 hours a day are done.
There are LOTS of places to go visit and see out here. Parks, caves, trails, sights, towns......
As for accommodations, you will have your own private room upstairs as well as your own private bathroom upstairs, with a brand new tiled shower!
Laundry room, kitchen and living room are communal. We have 3 porches for you to choose from for your Afternoon naps!

The property is owned by Victoria and David Gross of Charleston, South Carolina. They have their own listing on HelpX, host #14448.

As for me, I found HelpX in 2014 and have been to 2 or 4 different host in that time.
I am 48yo male. I DO NOT drink, smoke, party or do drugs! I'm a very neat, tidy and organized person. Quiet and Respectful. More of the loner type, so no need to worry about someone talking your ear off.
I am on the property 24 hours a day, 7 days a week!
My bedroom is downstairs next to my own private bathroom.
The last thing I want or need is to waste your time or mine.
So, please feel free to call, text or email me ANYTIME! Please leave a message if you call or I will not return your call.
Don't be scared, let's chat and see if you'll fit in here!!!
Adios!!!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use