help exchange   Host 94488
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


La Foret Auvray
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.3
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 94488
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 2, 2019

We are Cait (Irish) and Bridget (English), and we have lived in Normandy for 9 years. We mainly speak English with some French.

We are situated on the edge of the Suisse Normande surrounded by nature and with numerous walking and cycling routes (we have bikes to borrow), lake swimming, kayaking, climbing, zip wires, paintballing and horse riding opportunities all nearby.

Our nearest train station is in Briouze 10km away. The three largest towns equidistance are Flers, Falaise and Argentan. Paris is 200km away or 2.15 hours by train.

We have a small, smallholding of just over 1 hectare, broken down into a forest garden (in its infancy-5 years), 2 polytunnels and permaculture garden, an orchard with pear, poiree (perry) trees, a well (feeding the permaculture garden) and a one acre meadow with a small number of fruit trees.

Accommodation is a bedroom and bathroom annexed to our house (although we may from time to time use the bath in there especially if too cold to use the hosepipe!). Alternatively, there is a caravan and compost toilet.

We have in the past used WWOOFers for helping out which has been both good and not so good. Mainly those not so good were not interested and not skilled enough so we are looking for someone who is passionate about permaculture, has practical skills, enthusiastic, organised, creative and open-minded, can work independently and enjoys their own private space. We are looking for help collecting and processing produce (September - especially at the moment to crush pears and make juice and poiree, a little fencing (we have 2 goats and a ram; and 3 cats but they are not so naughty), general tidying of the forest garden and various odd and creative jobs.

We like our own space and go to bed quite early. Although we do like a good laugh. One of us is vegan and the other vegetarian (so we have no animal/fish food on the land). One of us does meditation and intermittent fasting and might encourage volunteers to join in if the interest is there? We will provide vegan/veggie breakfast, evening meal and food for DIY lunch. We welcome queer-friendly volunteers.

Minimum stay is one week, although that can be negotiated (both ways!). We would like, in return for your food and accommodation, 25 hours a week work. The hours can be flexible although we are often dependent on the season and weather conditions, so it could extend to the weekends also.

WIFI is available in the guest accommodation.




Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use