help exchange   Host 94732
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Boston
All Year: February to October
Area (ha): 0.8
Persons: 1 to 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 94732
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 6, 2019

Hi

We are Richard and Janet and we consider ourselves to be a young couple in our mid-fifties! We live in rural Lincolnshire with our two large dogs.

We are mainly seeking help with gardening, landscaping, maintenance, decorating and building repair work together with occasional domestic chores. If you are good with vehicles we also have a number of classic car projects in our workshop, a half converted camper and a number of old pinball machines etc. for anyone who has a flare for electronics. There are always lots of projects on the go from building things to fixing things and occasionally just doing things for the fun of it. We are not a business enterprise.

You must love dogs as they are a big part of our lives. Our home is an old partly refurbished farm house and group of outbuildings dating back to the 1850ís. It is set in two acres of land located approximately 3 miles or 5 Km from the nearest town of Boston. We are located 2 miles or 3 Km from our nearest convenience store or local shop. Further information about the market town of Boston is available using the link below. We are also within walking distance of the river Haven and the bird sanctuary nature reserve and salt marshes at Frampton.

We enjoy entertaining friends in our games/bar/movies/party room (converted barn). Our home is busy most weekends when local friends visit to play music and sing. We donít claim to be very good but we enjoy singing and playing the guitar and welcome others to join us. We enjoy meeting people from all over the world and there can be a real international flavour in our home with friends met on our own travels often joining us or others on cultural exchanges with neighbouring friends. We are greatly influenced by Irish culture - one of us being originally Irish and the other having lived there. We are generally open, friendly and easy going but also respectful of space and boundaries and ask for a similar approach from our guests.

Your accommodation will be in a private, comfortable self-contained large static mobile home (lodge) in our garden. It has a double bedroom with en suite, a twin bedroom, a shower room & toilet, a fully fitted kitchen and a large living dining area with an outdoor patio, garden and car parking. It is suitable for couples, small groups or families. Laundry can be done in our nearby laundry room. We also have a spare bedroom in our own house with more direct contact with us and thus possibly more suited to an individual guest.

Our rural location means that our broadband connection is very limited and WIFI is therefore not available. Mobile phones and phone data work fine and we do have a landline and internet access in the house for essential use. We will provide basic bedding, towels etc. and initially some basic food stuffs.
We will provide basic bedding, towels etc. and some basic food stuffs. We are also happy to welcome you with a hot meal and to share our table with you but our eating habits are a little unpredictable and we therefore expect for you to generally cook for yourselves. We are very flexible with eating arrangements and will accomodate you as necessary. We are not vegetarians but we are used to catering for vegans and happy to facilitate this.

The nearest public transport links are in Boston where there is a train and bus station. This area of Lincolnshire is good for cycling and a small range of bicycles are available for you to use. We are also usually out and about and can maybe give you an occasional lift into town or elsewhere.

We are flexible with hours of work and on average will expect a few hours a day help per person. We will clearly set out and agree tasks with you and provide any necessary equipment and materials. Wherever possible we will aim to provide work that is interesting and within your capabilities together with relevant instruction and assistance as needed.

We look forward to welcoming you and sharing with you our little part of the world.

https://www.visitbostonuk.com/

https://www.rspb.org.uk/reserves-and-events/reserves-a-z/frampton-marsh/

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use