help exchange   Host 9487
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


sooke
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 9487
Region: Vancouver Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 6, 2018

Update: 1-2 people are needed ASAP for 1-2 weeks of yard work.



We are a family of 5 living in the sooke area (about 30 minutes drive from downtown victoria) Our home is situated on a one acre property where we keep chickens for eggs and raise a few batches of chickens a year for meat. We have a small garden on this property and then we rent another plot of land (in nearby metchosin)where we have a mixed market garden.
The house is located just off of "the galloping goose trail" a regional hiking/biking trail that stretches over 50 km from downtown victoria into the sooke hills. In your free time you can bike or walk to the sooke potholes, roche cove, matheson lake (which is good for swimming in the summer) and other good hiking spots. we are near east sooke regional park and many beautiful beaches as well. we have bikes to lend and we are on the city bus route so transportation is easy.

Acommodation is in a camperized school bus which has heat and a comfy queen size mattress. Its quiet and private. The bathroom is in the house. Laundry and Internet are available.

Jake is a full time professional blacksmith and works out of his shop which is near to the garden in metchosin. Miranda is a baker part time and will no doubt fatten you up with all sorts of delicious baked goodies. We have three children ranging from age 13 to age 5. We speak a little bit of french and a little bit of spanish and are always keen to learn more about other languages and cultures. We are easygoing, non smokers, non drug users and we prefer the same in our guests.

There are many different tasks that a helper can do. Farm labour, yard work, housework, child-minding, kitchen help- especially during canning season! etc. If you have a special talent, we would love to put it to good use!

Working schedule and length of stay can be negotiated, we generally expect approx. 30 hrs/week of help time.

Note: We will almost always take someone on who is a serious/skilled chess player rated 1800+ especially if you have experience teaching chess, knowledge of opening theory etc. (our son is a tournament level chess enthusiast)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use