help exchange   Host 95405
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Auckland
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.55
Persons: 2 (possibly more)
Category: Other
Host ID: 95405
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 5, 2020

Hi,
before we introduce ourselves I would like to let you know that we are not worried about your skills, we don't expect any experts,but someone who genuinely loves plants and to help. For us, communication is the most important thing and we prefer someone who has a sense of humor and fits into our sociable family. If you are a recluse and rather hide in your room or look at your phone,please don't apply.If you like (modern/strategic) board games, card games (incl. Bridge)or chess,we can cater for that.
Our household consists of 3 people. Andrew, retired business man from England, myself ( educator and naturopath from Germany) and my son Oliver (16,home schooled).
Our property is a project of an existing vegetable garden and orchard, extended now to a new orchard with 20 new fruit and nut trees on 5000sqm.
The future plans are to use Permaculture and bio-dynamic principles as well as solar energy to become self-sufficient, save our own seeds and propagate from plants.
A lot of our food we buy is organic and over time we would like to turn the garden (which is spray free)into an organic one.I myself have been interested in plants for years, but still have lots to learn myself. I can teach beginners basics though.
The help we need right now is mostly weeding to make the garden look nice and helping with general tasks in and around the house, eg food preparation, doing dishes etc.
It also depends on you, what skills you have that you could/would like to contribute.

We don't have a set routine, don't get up early and don't have set meal times. This is due to my son's daytime/ evening activities. You will partly organize your hours of contribution yourself, also depending on weather and whatever tasks needing to be done (eg watering in the evening) and 4 hours per day of contribution is appreciated.
Any questions about food, please ask.
Myself and my son are vegan and gluten free, Andrew isn't and it would be good to sort out food requirements before hand.
When possible we have organic food which we have to buy as our garden is not very productive yet.
Food hygiene is very important at our place.

We can take you to nice places whenever possible, eg Botanic Garden, Regional Parks or beaches if you don't have a car.
We have a smoke free home.
You can use the home phone for toll free calls, Wifi is free.
Andrew has several pianos(incl.a Steinway),so for pianists a music heaven.
Languages in our household are English and German.
Oliver likes outdoors generally, rock climbing, geocaching and plays cricket and chess, learning piano and guitar, Andrew and I play Bridge.We also play table Tennis and go for walks.
We live semi-rural,15min. drive from the airport(off peak traffic!!!) which is convenient,but the noise of the planes could be annoying if you are very sensitive ( we live at the end of a short no exit street,but it is not completely noise free), 5 min drive from the Redoubt Rd Motorway exit and a big shopping centre (with banks and IRD) where we go frequently. There is no public transport close by, but buses and trains from Manukau Centre where we can drop you off or pick you up.
We have a guest room with a double bed for couples and a room with a single bed ( room has a gym and sauna).
We will need occasional access to the sauna but can work around the schedule so not to disturb you.
We don't have the space for helpers to modify a car into a camper van,which we know from experience can take 2 weeks.
We don't have animals and prefer not to have a dog here as we don't have a properly fenced garden.
If you stay with us and it works out well, you will get a guaranteed reference afterwards(or before you leave) if needed for HelpX or job applications.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use