help exchange   Host 95858
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Hoopa
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 95858
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 28, 2020

Hi my name is Spencer, I am a small scale organic farmer and produce seller at a farmers market (Founder/Owner). My focus is on food and rely on my produce and home made conserves as my source of my livelihood.

My homestead is located in Hoopa, an indigenous Native American reservation in Humboldt County California.
Situated on the Trinity river, 20 miles (30km) from Willow creek, it is a small acreage with a diverse range of fruit and vegetables.

I am running this homestead with some help from my 19 year old son, Jules and two dogs Bella and Barrington but there always a job to be done.



If you like the sound of this please feel free to contact me at any given point and am always happy to answer any question you may have.

Hola soy Spencer, un granjero a pequeña escala dedicado a la producción y venta de vegetales orgánicos.


Dependo directamente de los productos que cultivo y las conservas artesanales que preparo como principal recurso para el sostenimiento de mi granja.

Mi granja familiar esta ubicada en Hoopa, una Reserva Nativa Americana en Humbolt County California. Situada a las orillas de Trinity river, a 30 km de Willow Creek, tengo una propiedad pequeña con una gran variedad de frutas y vegetales.

Mi hijo Jules de 19 anos y mis perros Vela y Barrington me ayudan mucho en la granja, pero en el campo siempre hay algo que hacer.
Si quieres pasar un buen tiempo ayudando en nuestra granja y aprendiendo juntos no dudes en escribir estare feliz de responder tus preguntas.
We have a bedroom we reserve for select solo helpers and couples.
In the summertime and fall we have max vacancy for 4 guests . Normal conditions are camping with you providing tent but we do not mind sharing the house with respectful people . We love to host people from other countries and help them learn English and we love to learn all languages but Spanish especially! We enjoy the culture and language exchange with all people of Earth.

There are many tasks that we need help with . We are always excited to welcome carpenters , permaculturists, painters, farm mechanics,house cleaners and organizers , and help cooking . Most of the work consists of weeding , brush cutting , bushwhacking ,pruning , planting , rototilling , farm maintenance , harvesting , and the dedicated helpers we also provide the chance to help us sell at our farmers markets. The ones that show us real contribution!! The farmers market is a big community event and a lot of interesting sights!! It is a great event . Good people watching , great music , and food with good vibes downtown Arcata Ca.

I like to keep the work trade to about 4-5 hours a day 5 days a week with weekends off and occasional excursions . We are not far from the beautiful rugged Northern California coast and lovely beaches , Prairie creek Redwoods and amazing hiking trails , Arcata which has great community , culture , food and coffee. If I have good contribution I like to take the time to show people around !

We are a cannabis friendly and tolerant farm as long as your contribution is not compromised and everything is respectful.

Also love to host Guitar teachers and Tai Chi masters

I offer a a two week stay max. If it goes well for those two weeks we can easily discuss extended stay but we will not negotiate further stays with people who are not independent minded . We are open to all races and creeds and couples are welcome .

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use