help exchange   Host 95937
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Oroville
All Year: no
Area (ha): 8.9
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 95937
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 13, 2020

Me and My Project -

My place is 22 acres and is located in the Okanogan Highlands of North Central Washington State. It is way out in the country in a wilderness area with all sorts of wildlife. The view from here is magnificent.

With this land I wish to establish an intentional community. So far it is just me, so more people are needed! Through HelpX I'm hoping others will come and experience the wonders of my place and perhaps some will want to eventually join me in this adventure. But being a HelpXer at my place is not limited to only those interested in intentional community. It simply includes this possibility. My place is all about being a welcoming and friendly place to all.

Details About Help Required -

We would work a few hours each day. No specific deeply involved or complicated skills are required. I think everyone has the skill of shoveling. If not, it is surely an easy skill to acquire. We would do a variety of things with much of the work consisting of shoveling dirt and rocks, but at an easy going pace. Projects would include digging a drainage ditch along the entrance, digging out a basement under the straw baled trailer (No more cold feet in the winter!), digging out a ruptured water pipe and replacing it with new, preparing an area for a garden, leveling paths side to side, building a retaining wall for a patio, building storage sheds, building a ceramics studio, building The Grand Entrance (an art project. Actually I view my place in its entirety as an art project.), planting trees, installing tree shelters, and more. And while we work, interesting and inspiring conversation will be encouraged. Fascination is the goal! So it would be easy going work and after a while something will get done, and we will have the satisfaction of seeing the fruits of our labor.

Cultural Exchange and What Can Be Learned -

Coming here as a HelpXer would be a great way to get to know me and everything about my place. I have a vision. The future intentional community, will have its own culture. As the first person, I am working on this. As others come into being they will contribute their visions. After much negotiating to ensure harmony, there will be a merging of visions into one vision. Part of my visionary contribution is the alphabet. Yup. my place has its own alphabet.

And there is the cuture of the surrounding area of North Central Washington. In our travels around Chesaw, Oroville, and Tonasket, we will meet some of the people in the area.

Accommodations -

The cuisine is vegetarian. I will cook meals in the kitchenet of my straw baled trailer. I am an O.K. cook, but if cooking is anyones specialty you'd be welcome to join in.
As my place is in its infancy, the only sleeping area accommodation I have to offer is a space to park your RV, camper, or travel trailer, or a spot to set up your tent. My place is off the grid so this is definitely a camping out situation.

There is no well here. All water is hauled in. So the bathroom situation is rustic.

Other Relevant Info -

During helper's time off, we can go check out the local sights. Some evenings we could go out to places of interest for entertainment. Helpers will have to provide their own transport. My little pickup truck seats only two people.
I would expect other people living in or around my home to treat me and my place with respect.

I get on the internet through library computers only. Got tired of all those Microsoft updates on my own computer which was obnoxious as I don't have WiFi at home. So I get on the internet only about twice per week. So please bear with me. Thanks.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use