help exchange   Host 96255
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Niwot
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1 acre
Persons: 3-4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 96255
Region: Mountain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 26, 2020

We are a group of family and friends from Louisiana who have re-located to the Front Range of the Rocky Mountains. Our new home is in Niwot, Colorado near Boulder. Most of the time our home is occupied a diverse age group-- two 6 year olds, three milinneals and a grandmother. Currently some of our community have returned to Louisiana.

We are so grateful that we are in such a secure and healthy location. We are aware that communities like ours will offer a solution for creating a new culture and economy. We want to grow our community now---April through July. We are teaming up with Habitat for Humanity and Local Farms to creat a trained work force in construction and farming. This is our call for Helpers who are ready to implement a new vision.

We are focused on creating heaven on earth through conscious living, caring and sharing. In everyday living, we share as a extended family---and we enjoy customs and celebrations that are inclusive of many cultures and tribes. We have a lively & fun home and we enjoy sharing food and music and art.

We love to cook and share meals. We do a lot of Louisiana-style black pot cooking. Being new to Boulder, we are enjoying the healthy organic produce and wild game available in Colorado. We love trying new cultures and foods with our Helpers.

Music and dance are a rich part of our lives. Our instruments includes harps, guitar, synthesizer, native drums, didgeridoo, harmonica and singing. We especially love Medicine songs.

We are makers---jewlery, candles, fabric art, We are working on expanding our art studio in our two-car garage, so that we can do large format pieces.

We will be developing our outdoor education and performance areas for the remainder this spring and summer. We will be putting up our Bell tent in the spring and plan on adding a Native American tipi during 2020.

So our tasks for Helpers this spring and summer are specific to the weather. The sunny days often allow us to do projects outdoors. We are developing a yoga and meditation garden, so we are gathering stones and wood for the fire area. We will be preparing the area for planting both edibles and ornamental landscaping. We make frequent trips to the mountains to gather, wood and stones. We travel to springs in the mountains to get freshwater. We also interface with a local farm and have involvement with animals and nature in a beautiful setting. Basically, we do outside work (and play) in all seasons.

We have an active home and our Helpers participate is a shared schedule which includes housekeeping and childcare and cooking based as a rotating schedule. There are always home improvement projects that include multiple skills. So we love it when Helpers have special experience with tools. We also have a variety of computer and video projects on the horizon.

We have occasional "Home Parties' featuring music and art vending, and so there are lots of preparation tasks. We also participate in festival vending and farmer's markets.

We start off with a 2 week trial with our helpers. If we are a good fit, then we willl negotiate a contract for April, May, June and July.






Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use