help exchange   Host 96514
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Carleton-sur-mer
All Year: June to september
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1 or familly
Category: Other
Host ID: 96514
Region: Quebec

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 23, 2020

We are Melanie and Jordan, 29 and 39 years old, with two awesome kids born in the summer of 2017 and 2019. We are building a house using only natural and recycled materials such as straw bales, clay, car tires,... We like to do things right even if it takes longer. We already had experiences in natural building and we are starting to have a lot to share and teach even thought we still can learn ten times more! We are part of a community doing gardening, farming,... We live in an old school bus while building the house, there’s a warm shower in a wooden cabin, electricity from solar panels. We can eat all together in the bus and you’ll be quiet to sleep in the attic of our workshop.
Stay at least one week, but we would be super exited to have help for a month or more !
In the summer 2020, we'll do insolation of the roof and floor with wood chip and lime, we'll do natural plasters, sheep whool insolation, carpentry, etc etc. There will be a lot to do and to learn.
We would propose to work 5 days a week, 6 hours per day in exchange for complete accomodation. We are open to other arrangements.
We live up a big hill, next to the sea (10 minutes drive, but we actually can see it from our place)We live in the forest, it is very peacefull, with good mobile reception. Carleton-sur-mer is the nearest town with 15 minutes drive. It is a touristic place with microbruary, bakery, coffe shop, there is fishing to do and we like to cook burger on the fire on the beach and do catamaran every once in a while.
We would feel very greatfull to have help, especially long term. Let us know what would make you feel confortable so that we can adapt. We are use to have helpers, but it will be our first summer with helpx.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use