help exchange   Host 96572
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Haines
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .7
Persons: 6
Category: Other
Host ID: 96572
Region: Alaska

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 27, 2020

We are a couple in our 30s with two small boys living off grid and off the road system in remote Alaska on a beautiful lake. We built a micro house with lumber milled on site with a chainsaw mill and hand tools and have built a garden and home on the side of a mountain with the lake as our front yard. Wilderness surrounds us and the hiking and exploring options are nearly unlimited. Canoeing or kayaking, glaciers within view of the house, mountain goats to watch, excellent fishing, gardening, skinny dipping in the summer are all available. We need help with chores around here to get this place into a more suitable condition. Things like building the trail from the water up to the house which currently is a very steep and narrow sidehill switchback trail that is not safe for anyone but sure footed young people! Or things like firewood hauling, splitting and stacking, soil hauling via bucket to raised beds, terracing the hillside for more garden areas, gathering and hauling lake mud and weeds for garden soil building, hiking trail building which is mainly just trimming brush and other odds and ends development chores along with construction of a hot tub, wood shed and root cellar. Accommodations here are sparse. We have a barge on the lake and would put a wall tent on that with a wood stove and hand pump for lake water. Or a platform could be built on land and the tent put up on that. You would be responsible for your own food and prep and transportation to Haines. We would pick you up in town or at the river and help you get out here but be aware that during winter that means a ten mile hike over ice. Summer is the same trip in a canoe including a river crossing. Hours of work are negotiable depending on your needs and time of year, 14 hours a week helping out with projects is a starting point and we can go up or down from there depending on the situation. This would be more of a thing for younger people or at least be fairly physically fit as this is rough country, though incredibly beautiful. Singles, couples or families are welcome but because of the rustic nature of the place and difficulties involved we will have to discuss suitability with any prospective visitors as well as length of stay.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use