help exchange   Host 96627
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Orangeville
All Year: May 2020
Area (ha): 14
Persons: 2 or 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 96627
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 26, 2020

Greetings Future Helpers!

We, Joyce and Harvey, are new to hosting, but have the guidance of two friends and neighbours in Hockley Valley who are very experienced HelpX hosts. We are very active in community organizations, particularly arts and culture and environmental organizations. We look forward to meeting helpers interested in learning about Ontario, Canada and the SouthWest Ontario area.


Outdoor work is required which could be tree pruning, weed-wacking, lawn and trail mowing, gardening, weeding, fixing fences, window washing, insulating a cold room, painting and repairing wood furniture (if it rains), etc. Helpers work 5 hours per day, 5 days a week.


We are located on 35 acres of what was once a 100 acre working farm but is now a forested property. We live in a fully renovated farmhouse with several outbuildings (a barn, two drivesheds, a fully restored 200 year old log cabin and a garage/workshop). There are no longer any domestic animals and we don't accept pets. With our adjacent neighbours we share 75 acres of walking trails and are only a few minutes from several still longer walking trails including the Bruce Trail (5 minutes away). We have bicycles, a workout area and huge trees with comfortable chairs to read under.

We prefer helpers who are 25 to 40 years old, preferably a couple or friends. We need help in the first two weeks of May 2020 and are looking for helpers for a one week or a two week stay. It would be good if you can drive a riding lawnmower, or are prepared to learn to. Only non-smokers please.

There are two bedrooms available to helpers with queen beds in each. They are in a separate floor of the house which includes a large bathroom with shower, tub, etc. as well as a third bedroom. Internet access is available, laundry is available, as is a TV that you can share with us as well as a very well stocked library that you are welcome to access (with lots of books about local sites and places to visit in the area). We will prepare lunch and dinner and you can help yourself to the kitchen for breakfast. If you have a home country favourite meal that you would like to cook, we would be pleased to enjoy it with you.

We are one-hour northwest of Toronto by car, 45 minutes from Toronto International Airport, and accessible by GO train or GO bus to Orangeville where we can pick you up. The attractive Town of Orangeville is 15 minutes from our place and we will help you enjoy it. Niagara Falls can be visited in a day. If you plan to travel or explore, we can help with that.

We have travelled throughout Europe and several other parts of the world and have lived in Sweden, the USA and the United Kingdom. We speak some French and would happily help you improve your English if that is one of your goals. We look forward to hearing from you.

Joyce and Harvey

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use