help exchange   Host 9748
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

West Cork
All Year: Periodically
Area (ha): 60
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 9748
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 28, 2020

Feb/March 2020 - CALL OUT
Hey all, I am looking for a willing, enthusiastic person/s to help for a couple of weeks at the end of from March 2nd for 2-3 weeks. I will be away from March 5 - 17 so I would like someone genuine and self-directed who would like to have the place to themselves, mind my really lovely companionable dog Chester and who has the skills and willingness to work away with gardening and strimming both while Iím away and for another week or so when I get back. If things are going well, there would be the option to stay for April.

In return you will have your own self-contained studio-cottage with wood stove, kitchenette, ensuite, mezzanine bedroom with a double bed and living room area. Food provided although help with cooking may be necessary if I have to be at work.

I'd particularly welcome lumberjacks, gardeners and those with experience planting trees/hedging and most definitely, please only apply if your genuinely willing, good-natured, hard-working and happy to get stuck-in and help take care of this beautiful little patch of the planet! Sherwood is a very peaceful haven and ideal for those who love the Great Outdoors. Sing out if you feel Sherwood is calling you!

Mid-March 2018 Offer: Hello travellers. I am looking for someone who genuinely wants to get stuck in helping with indoor painting and outdoor gardening and minding my lovely collie in exchange for a stint in a spacious farmhouse and Cabin sunroom enjoying early spring in West Cork?? Building, DIY and timber skills would be an added and awesome bonus!!! Sing out if you think youíre the right, good-natured and genuinely willing kind of person Iím hoping to host.

Dec Xmas offer - I can offer a spacious homestead for 2 weeks over Christmas in exchange for minding my dog - I don't expect any work but equally I don't want to incur any hosting costs. It could give someone a cosy low cost Christmas option with the delightful company of a very charming, big hearted collie into the bargain!

Sept/Oct 2017 Request for a carpenter - is there a good carpenter out there at all, willing to lend his/her expertise??!! Please please get in touch if so and I'll tell you more about the project - it's nothing major or complicated but it does need someone with carpentry skills and an eye for doing a good job!

Request for good-hearted, self-reliant, self-motivated cheerful folks to join a retreat centre development project - helping to transform a farmhouse and 60 acres into a nourishing and inspiring place for people to be.

Current requests for skill and help:
Sensitive felling of woodland (Need to have chainsaw skill and experience)
Replenish firewood supply
Painting and white washing outbuildings and stables
Installing bat and bird boxes in woodland for GLAS grant (agriculture grant)
Hedge care
Rebuilding a vegetable garden, weeding, strimming
Restoration work
Varnishing windows
Other smaller DIY projects
Carpenters, joinery geniuses, builders, lumberjacks and gardeners are extremely welcome!!

Need to know:
Nonsmoking home (outside only)
Remote out of town (10 minute drive or 1 hour walk)
Commune living with other helpx-ers. (There are 3 private rooms as well)
Back to basics living and cooking
Quiet spot to watch the sunset and remember who you are.

Immediately to when you're ready to go.
Pick up from Cork is available with some planning.

Thank you.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use