help exchange   Host 98678
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Azoia-Sesimbra
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3,5
Persons: 2
Category: Hospitality
Host ID: 98678
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 20, 2020

Hi there!

My name is David and I live in a little wooden bungalow in a 3,5 hectars family property next to the Ocean and inside a Natural protected area just 50Km south of Lisboa, where I have a little organic farm (only for family and friends consumption and no comercial purpose) and where I ran a small Eco Glamping site - Slowlife Glamping. You can also find more details about us on Social Media.
My 2 children Kiko (12) and Vio (2) live partially with me. I also have 1 dog (Rafa) and 2 cats (Zappa and Petra). Also my brother's dogs and cats show up very often as they live nearby :-)

Harmony with nature is a major concern so electricity is provided by solar panels and water from our well, we compost and recycle, we have dry compost toilets and only use biological higiene and cleaning products.

We ask for 4/5 hours of daily help 5 days a week in a shedule to decide. It's up to you to chose what to do the rest of the day, but I assure you we're surrounded by beautiful natural landscapes and the power of the Atlantic ocean just next to us :-)

What we value the most is a combination of creativity and proactivity, hard work, positive spirit, capacity of improvisation (recycle and re-use) and good sense of humor.

Help is needed in different tasks and we are looking for volunteers with multi skilled expertise to assist us with general maintenance (painting, carpentry and construction works) as well as well as helping to take care of our organic garden and fruit trees, and to prepare client's accommodations (cleaning, laundry, etc). Help with cooking meals and cleaning in is also part of our routines

Do you have any specific skills that fit in this description? Permaculture, bioconstruction, wood structures, a bread oven, barbecue, lake, construction, etc...?? If you know about some of this it will be much valuated but if you know about other things let us know.

Depending on availability volunteers will be accomodated in either a caravan or a tent. Please bring your sleeping bed and towel (we provide sheets and extra blanket if needed.

Food, cooking and washing facilities will be provided but cooking is also a skill that we value.
We are not vegetarian, but a good part of our diet is, as we include many vegetables in it. Salads, fruit, bread, pasta, eggs, rice, potates are our basic diet but we also eat meat and fish a couple of times a week.

If you are ok with this you are welcome to join us in all daily meals. If you have special diet requirements we can also get you a weekly vegetable basket and you should be able to cook your own meals.

I hope our descriptions caught your interest and will be happy to meet you soon.

Happy days!

David Gol

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use