help exchange   Host 98756
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Bradford
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 2+
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 98756
Region: Midwest

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 30, 2020

We are a couple in our 30s with two young sons and and a small hobby farm in north central Illinois. We have a small variety of animals including birds of all sizes, horses, camel, goats, donkey, dogs, cats. We do not make any profit from our farm or animals, so we both work full time away from our home.

Due to being gone so much, we are looking for help with all farm tasks in exchange for free room, wifi, food and laundry. Minimum stay 2 weeks. Can accommodate 2 persons; possibly more if willing to share a room.

Can provide hobby farm experience, education on animal care, horse back riding, camel trekking, raising poultry (peacocks), leather work. Helpers work alone and with us, and are also welcome to join our family on any trips or excursions while they are present.

Work is self-paced, helpers need to be able to work on simple tasks independently. Daily time commitment depends on how quickly you get things done and how much time you want to put into them. Tasks vary greatly in physical effort and time commitment, and we will provide options so you can find something suited to you.

Some other helpful info: We eat dinner together each night and other meals on our own. We are not great cooks, and don't follow any special diets (although we've been told we don't each much meat by American standards). We do not smoke, and cannot have any smoking in the house. We both drive and can provide pick-up, drop-off, and other transportation at times; but there is no public transportation available in this area. Lastly, we are up early and in bed early, so on work days we really are only around for a couple hours.

Feel free to contact us for any additional info and we'd be happy to chat! We are new to helpx but have been hosting via helpers from other sources for several years. We've had people help with everything from large animal training, to indoor cooking and cleaning. Previous animal experience is not necessary; we only ask that you are tolerant of all animals indoors and out :)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use