help exchange   Host 9902
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.5 hectares
Persons: 2+
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 9902
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 20, 2019

Late vacancy for practical, dog loving volunteers from Mid- September onwardas in the Midi-Pyrenees, SW France

We are an English couple who have lived in France for 13 years. We live in a partly renovated an old stone cottage in the middle of rolling vineyards in historic Gascony, in the sunny Midi-Pyrenees with our 9+ rescue dogs, chickens and ducks.

We are a high energy household and seek like minded volunteers to help us in our busy lives. Everyday tasks include looking after the dogs -walking, grooming, feeding, kennel cleaning & picking up poo - and the hens and ducks - feeding, cleaning, egg collection etc.

We are keen to progress our house renovation and current projects include pointing walls, plastering / dry lining, painting & decorating, painting, tiling, making shutters, installing a bathroom, plumbing and general electrics. So anyone with experience in building projects and general DIY (masonry, carpentry, electrics etc) is always welcome!

As well as renovating our property we also are looking for volunteers to help with general property maintenance such as gardening, mowing, planting, cleaning, laundry; most of the work is outside.

In return for 25 hours per week, we offer comfortable accommodation in the cottage or in a caravan with shared bathroom/communal sitting room/wifi/satellite tv. A driving license valid in France is an advantage (manual cars) as we are in a remote location and it will give you some freedom to explore. Couples/friends are particularly welcome. Minimum stay 2 weeks.

Keith loves to cook and teach what he knows about food and gastronomy - both local and international - so delicious home cooked food is always on the menu. We are mainly a carnivorous family but we can also cater for vegetarians / vegans. We try to have a few other volunteers here at the same time for company!

There are some lovely walks all around us and our local village of Gondrin is within walking distance (1.5kms) - shops, bar, restaurant, ATM, post office, chemist and pool/ outdoor leisure centre (July/August only), and we have 2 bikes available as well. We are situated on the Santiago de Compostela pilgrimage route (between Condom and Eauze), and within a couple of hours reach of the Pyrenees, the Atlantic coast, & 3 hrs from the Mediterranean and ideally located if you are en route to Spain.

The people are friendly and the countryside is beautiful ...our photos and reviews will give you an idea of our lifestyle and the beautiful scenery which surrounds us.

So If you are fit, strong, enthusiastic and keen to learn new skills then we look forward to hearing from you and to offering you a glimpse of life in 'La France profonde' where life has changed little in the past 50 years.!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use