help exchange   Host 99493
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Marmelete
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1ha private
Persons: 2 (+children)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 99493
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 18, 2020

Hi, we are Johanna (29), Maro (37), and Janko (1,5) + our friendly dog Maya and we are living now since one year close to the village Marmelete (Sierra de Monchique/West Algarve) in the mountains of a beautyful nature reserve on 37,5 ha big land, that we are buying together with 10 other people. For now, here are living 7 adults and 4 children. We are living together like a village, that means, we are not a tight community, it's more like everybody creates and shapes his own living spaces and we do things together, where it happens naturally, where it's necessary or where is common interest.

But more to us: we settled in a beautyfull valley where a brook and small river are meeting. We live in a geodetic dome and spent the last year in building our basecamp here. From here on we are starting now to discover, shape and build our final place to live. And with this we are really happy for help.

These are the current and running projects:
building a workshop shed with a terrace,
building a substructure for the dome,
building terraces, stairs and paths on the hillside,
building stonewalls,
free the land from scrub,
install a watersystem,
build a compost toilet.

Maro is a really gifted allround handcrafter, so by working with him you can learn a lot, while he is also always happy for new input.

Our diet is mainly vegetarian/vegan (with some exceptions from time to time) and we will be happy to share our lunch and dinner with you (but sure, we provide you also breakfast). We buy our veggies and fruits at the local farmers market and more and more is coming from our own garden, which Johanna is running together with one of our co-living mates.

So far it's still the basecamp here, we can only provide a cold shower and a refreshing bath in the river (but in the summer you will appreciate this ;) ) and we are heating up the bath tube once a week.


In the moment unfortunately we can't yet provide an accomondation so we can only host people who can come with an own campervan, caravan or tent.

We're living here off-grid, so you reach the land only by a mudroad (~3km), and as we are living in the valley, here is no mobile phone or internet reception (only up the hill), but you can use are satellite internet.
The next village (Marmelete) with three little shops, two bars, a post office, petrol station and a multibanco is about 10km (20minutes by car) away.
The next bigger village is Aljezur where is a supermarket and public washing machines (where we wash our clothes) a biological shop, and many more, 30 minutes by car, and from there it's about 15 minutes to the beautyful westcoast.

We would be happy to host people who have already at least a little experience in handcraft and/or landwork.


We speak german and english

Sounds all good for you? We are looking foward your message :)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use