help exchange   Host 9998
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .2
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 9998
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 22, 2018

February 2018 UPDATE: I am looking for someone to stay for 2 weeks, anytime from now to the end of April.

Small cottage on the South Downs, 8 miles north of Brighton.
Very beautiful rural location with lovely walks along the Downs.

PLEASE NOTE: this is a small residential home and NOT a farm or smallholding.

The cottage and garden need renovation. Help is required in the garden; some digging would be involved as well as plenty of weeding, cutting back, clearing of rubbish, mowing lawns and planting. Anyone interested? I also need someone who can paint and decorate the interior of the cottage; these skills would be very helpful. Those with building experience would also be most welcome.

4 FULL day’s work with 3 days off, in return for accommodation, evening meals, and possibly some sightseeing. Preferably 10 days to two weeks, however, I would consider longer stays for the right person (or couple). I am happy to help with English lessons if required. The cottage is a little chaotic as work is very much in progress, yet it has all the usual amenities: large kitchen, washing machine, sitting room with TV, one shared bathroom (separate loo), and Wi-Fi/internet.

I have one small private bedroom available with a double bed. I have another spare bedroom but I keep that free for my grown-up children when they visit, however, if there were two friends for instance, and my children were not visiting, I might be able to make that room available for short stays.

I am a woman in my fifties - an artist - and I enjoy meeting new people. I love design, music, travel, and gardening, and am I am currently studying jewellery design. Work on the house, however, is a priority. I am not very well and it would make a big difference to the quality of my life if there were progress on the house and in the garden; I would then be able to concentrate on my jewellery studies and setting up a new business.

The cottage would suit those who enjoy the countryside, as I do not live in a village or town, yet it provides easy access to London, Brighton and beyond. The local village and rail station is a 20-minute walk away (London is 50 minutes by rail) and a bus stop to Brighton (20 minutes) is just up the road next to the local pub.

I would welcome anyone, from anywhere: anyone who is happy, friendly, honest and willing to work. I will endeavour to make you feel comfortable and part of my small family, which, by the way, includes one elderly Border Collie dog. She would love you to take her on walks.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use