Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Douglas Butler

Douglas Butler, 25 from United Kingdom (male)
Email: click here
Network: Europe
Present Country: United Kingdom
Join Date: January 13, 2017
Last Updated: October 13, 2017
Last Signed In: February 20, 2018

Companion Ad:
I am always open to meeting new friends to travel with. Currently around the Dartmoor region but open to adventures elsewhere!

Next Destination(s):
somewhere with woods and streams

Helper Description:
I am a flexible person, happy to try my hand at most areas of work but especially enjoy working outdoors. I like to feel that I have fully engaged with my work and completed a job to the best of my ability.

The area I have most experience with is growing organic vegetables and fruit trees. I find a lot of happiness and peace in this work. I know quite a lot about farming... how to grow pretty much any vegetable under the sun, build healthy soil ecology, plant and prune fruit trees to ensure good health etc. However I only have experience with relatively small scale projects (up to 2 acres of market gardens) and am comfortable using hand tools and very light machinery (strimmers, petrol rotovators etc.) but nothing big like tractors.

Also have some basic experience with woodland work - Timber extraction with winch and quad bike, clearing undergrowth, planting trees, chainsaw crosscutting, splitting and stacking firewood. (no formal chainsaw certification as of yet.)

I am interested in staying with people who are working to reverse the damage done to our planet. Interested in organic growing methods in general. Forest gardening, mushroom growing, vegetables, herbs, woodland trees, Eco-building, foraging... if it is to do with a healthy ecosystem I'm on board.

VERY Basic DIY skills (literally like using a hammer and putting up a few shelves) but keen to learn more about construction, especially green building.

I play the didgeridoo and may have one with me on my travels. Would like to play music with others more often. It's always fun to share in this way.

I also enjoy meditation and try to live my life deeply and peacefully.

Sometimes I love to talk and be around people, sharing ideas or just having a laugh. But I also need a good amount of quiet time to myself and try to balance these needs appropriately.

Love connecting with nature. Walking in woodlands and other beautiful areas, listening to the birds and a massive fan of ancient trees!

Currently residing around Dartmoor region, Devon. Looking for hosts throughout England and Ireland. Mainly the south and southwest of England but open to travelling further afield to places that seem inspiring!